Author Interview with Maggie van Well

rubyslettersbanner

I’m interviewing Maggie van Well, author of paranormal romance “Ruby’s Letters”. Thanks for Maggie for answering my interview questions, and please welcome her to my blog.

Q: Please tell us about yourself.

I live on Long Island with my darling husband (who is great at giving me ideas and proofreading my work), four insane children (no idea where they get that from) and three entertaining Italian greyhounds; Rosie, Stripe and Santa’s Little Helper (yes, that’s his real name). I also have two ringed-neck doves, because, ya know, I like being woken up at 2 in the morning by cooing.

I love the ocean, and feel blessed to be able to go to the beach whenever I want. I am addicted to hidden object games, chocolate and cafe’ mochas. Seriously, I think there’s an intervention in my future.

Q: Tell us about your book. 

Here’s a short synopsis:

You never know what you’ll find behind the wall of a closed up fireplace.

Emma Hopkins is a recently divorced chimney sweep trying to make it in a man’s world. When she wins a huge job in Brooklyn Heights , she finds more than she bargains for; a sexy general contractor who makes her blood boil and an evil spirit who wants her dead.

Ryan Atkinson struggles to keep his once-successful general contracting business alive, but horrors in his past have made him a shell of the man he once was. Now he has to face those fears to save Emma from a murderous ghost hell-bent on revenge.

Together, Ryan and Emma become ghost hunting partners, hoping to solve the mystery behind Ruby’s letters. What they uncover is a one-hundred year old murder and a budding love that can’t be denied.

Q: What inspired you to write Ruby’s Letters? 

Back in the day when I owned a fireplace and chimney restoration company, I visited a 19th century brownstone in Harlem. The house was gutted, and we were renovating all the fireplaces. The kitchen fireplace was huge! My husband jokingly said, “you could hide a dead body in there,” and that’s when the wheels in my head started turning. That same day, on the way home, we stopped at The Brooklyn Heights Pierrepont Promenade. When I saw the view from there, the wheels began to spin even faster. Needless to say, I got a headache that day.

Q: How much time per week do you spend writing/editing your work? 

That depends on if I just bought a new hidden object game or not. If I did, writing is few and far between. On  most days, though, I do some writing or editing. I’m the type of writer who gets a chapter down and then goes back to edit as I go along. Most writers, don’t do that, but it’s worked for me thus far!

Q: If you could meet three authors, which authors would you choose? 

Jude Deveraux amazes me. Her imagination and knowledge would have me in awe.

I’m not sure if this counts, because I know her pretty well, but Bertrice Small is fascinating to listen to. She’s amazingly intelligent and she’s been there from the beginning of romance as we know it.

I’ve also met Nora Roberts, but only casually. I’d love to sit down and have a drink with her. I’ve heard her speak and I’m pretty sure I’d spend the whole time laughing and being amazed by her intelligence. And she’s blunt (but in a nice way)! I love blunt (but in a nice way). 

Q: What are you working on at the moment?

Right now I’m working on book #2 of my small town series, Live and Laugh on Long Island. The first book, Love Emergency will be out in the next few months. The second book, Angels in Seashore Cove will be out sometime next year. These are small town contemporary romances, but some have a little paranormal, or suspense. All have a light humorous voice. I hope others find them amusing, otherwise I’m just laughing at myself…and that’s never healthy on a large scale.

About The Book

Ruby's Letters CoverTitle: Ruby’s Letters

Author: Maggie van Well

Genre: Contemporary / Paranormal Romance

You never know what you’ll find behind the wall of a closed up fireplace.

Emma Hopkins is a recently divorced chimney sweep trying to make it in a man’s world. When she wins a huge job in Brooklyn Heights , she finds more than she bargains for; a sexy general contractor who makes her blood boil and an evil spirit who wants her dead.

Ryan Atkinson struggles to keep his once-successful general contracting business alive, but horrors in his past have made him a shell of the man he once was. Now he has to face those fears to save Emma from a murderous ghost hell-bent on revenge.

Together, Ryan and Emma become ghost hunting partners, hoping to solve the mystery behind Ruby’s letters. What they uncover is a one-hundred year old murder and a budding love that can’t be denied.

Author Bio

Maggie lives on Long Island with her husband, four insane children (no idea where they get that from) and three entertaining Italian greyhounds; Rosie, Stripe and Santa’s Little Helper (yes, that’s his real name). She also has two ringed-neck doves, because, ya know, who doesn’t like getting woken up at 2 in the morning by cooing?

She loves the ocean, and feels blessed to be able to go to the beach whenever she wants. She is addicted to café mochas, Godiva chocolate, and hidden object games. Seriously, there’s an intervention in her future.

Links

http://www.maggievanwell.com/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/MaggieVanWell

 

This entry was posted in Author Interview, Book Tours and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

