Author Interview with Jennifer Blackstream

divinescalesbanner

Today I’m interviewing Jennifer Blackstream, author of fantasy romance “Divine Scales”. Welcome to my blog, Jennifer!

Author Interview

Q: Please tell us about yourself.

I am thirty three years old (as of 2014) and I have a five-year-old son (as of 2014). I will have a daughter early 2015. No pets at the moment because I shed enough as it is. I am a full time writer. Any time not spent writing is spent with my family, either for Sunday dinner at grandma’s, Tuesday dinner with my parents, or Sib Night with my closest-in-age sister (could be any day/s of the week). Tuesdays we all watch The Voice, Blacklist, Big Bang Theory, and Modern Family. For Sib Night, we watch Leverage, Necessary Roughness, White Collar, Once Upon a Time, or whatever other series we have gotten from the library that week. If I’m uploading, marketing and watching TV by myself, I watch Grimm, Star Trek (finished Enterprise, Next Gen, Voyager, and am now on Deep Space Nine), Bones, or Major Crimes.

Q: Tell us about your book.

Divine Scales is book four in my Blood Prince series. Every book in the series is a twisted fairy tale, and Divine Scales is my Little Mermaid. When I twist a fairy tale, I make a list of all the crucial elements of that fairy tale and then try to add my own spin to it. The fairy tales are always very recognizable as whatever fairy tale I’m twisting, but there should also be enough added to it to keep it interesting. For the Blood Prince series, each prince is a paranormal creature. For Divine Scales, the prince is an angel. Patricio is probably my moodiest prince, he tends to be rather sour with people, more than a little arrogant, and his sense of humor needs…work. Fortunately, I think Marcela knocked some sense into him, and he had some fabulous character growth that I was very pleased with. He will get a short story eventually (sometime in 2015), so I look forward to exploring him more later. And of course he’ll make an appearance or two in the spin-off series.

Q: What inspired you to write this series?

I love fairy tales and I had an idea for a werewolf Cinderella story. I’m a little obsessive, so I decided to make it a series. I needed something to tie all the stories together, so I came up with the World Tree prophecy, and that helped me pick the creatures I wanted to use. It all sort of snowballed from there.

Q: How much time per week do you spend writing/editing your work?

I can’t really say in hours how much time I spend writing. Right now, I try to get in 2k per day. Sometimes 2k takes me an hour, sometimes it takes four. It all depends on how much quiet time I can get and how many other things are on my mind while I’m trying to write.

Q: If you could meet three authors, which authors would you choose?

Terry Pratchett, the British author of the Discworld series, because he’s hilarious and based on his books, he’d be a stitch to meet.

Jim Butcher, author of the Dresden series, because I’ve heard he laments having to keep writing the fan-popular Dresden series when he really wants to write the other more serious series he’s working on. I want to smack him because one should never spend time writing a series one isn’t passionate about and proud of. Every author should ask herself (or himself), if this book takes off and becomes wildly popular, will I be ecstatic, or will I wish people loved the other book I wrote that I actually like? You should love everything you write. Well, at least at some point. It’s okay to hate it after you’ve spent countless hours editing it… And also, because I love his books and I just want to bask in that kind of creative aura.

Laurell K. Hamilton, author of the Anita Blake vampire hunter series, because she’s is ridiculously talented and I want to pick her brain. That woman can layer plots like no one else (except, perhaps, Jim Butcher). I also want to tell her that it’s okay to tell her editors/publishers to back off and give her time to write and to tell them that even though sex sells, that doesn’t mean more sex will sell more. A little can go a long way, the sex doesn’t have to happen every three pages. She needs to dig her feet in and tell them she’s the author and she knows what she’s doing. I’d love to see her get back to her roots, and back up a tad from the three/four/five/six-somes.

Q: What are you working on at the moment?

The first book in my spin-off series from the Blood Princes. This one is a Beauty and the Beast retelling. I’m particularly excited because this series will include the villain’s pov as well.

About Divine Scales

DivineScales 500x750Title: Divine Scales

Author: Jennifer Blackstream

Genre: Fantasy Romance

A warrior with a hunger for sin . . .

Driven by a terrible hunger for the black souls of evil men, Patricio, divine executioner of the gods, patrols the kingdom with blood on his hands and ice in his heart. The families of his victims sing his praises–the result of a witch’s cruel curse that condemns him to be forever surrounded by false adulation. When the curse sours the first hint at romance Patricio has had since becoming the king’s heir, his rage is all consuming. Disgusted, he leaves the mermaid in the sea and returns to the palace…only to be shocked when she bargains for the legs to follow him.

A mermaid out of her element . . .

Marcela’s world has been turned upside-down–literally. Once a proud member of her father King Triton’s royal guard, she’s now the victim of an angel’s curse. Enchanted into false adoration bordering on obsession, she traded her tail–and her voice–to the sea witch for the legs she needed to pursue the object of her desire. In a cruel twist of fate, the very magic that gave her the means to pursue her passion also broke the spell that caused it. Now she’s in the angel’s arms, but how can either of them trust the desire churning inside them when so much magic has muddied the waters?

Trust isn’t easy when nothing is as it seems . . .

A mermaid with legs and no singing voice. An angel with a curse. A witch with a chip on her shoulder. The world is full of magic and mayhem, and for an angel and a mermaid, it will take more than a kiss to balance…the Divine Scales.

Author Bio

Jennifer Blackstream is a psychology enthusiast with both a B.A. and M.A. in Psychology. Her fascination with the human mind is most appeased through the study of mythology and folklore as well as any novel by Sir Terry Pratchett.

Jennifer enjoys listening to Alice Cooper, trying new recipes (to which she will add garlic whether it calls for it or not), watching television with her family, and playing with her woefully intelligent young son. She lives in Ohio.

Jennifer spends most of her time drinking coffee from her X-Men mug and desperately trying to get all her ideas written down before her son can find that all magical button on her laptop to make her latest work vanish.

To learn more about Jennifer Blackstream and her novels, visit her website at http://www.jenniferblackstream.com.

Links

BOOK ONE

Buy Before Midnight on AllRomance

Buy Before Midnight on  Kobo

Buy Before Midnight on Barnes and Noble

Buy Before Midnight on Amazon

BOOK TWO

Buy One Bite on AllRomance

Buy One Bite on  Kobo

Buy One Bite on Barnes and Noble

Buy One Bite on Amazon

BOOK THREE

Buy Golden Stair on AllRomance

Buy Golden Stair on  Kobo

Buy Golden Stair on Barnes and Noble

Buy Golden Stair on Amazon

BOOK FOUR

Buy Divine Scales on AllRomance

Buy Divine Scales on  Kobo

Buy Divine Scales on Barnes and Noble

Buy Divine Scales on Amazon

This entry was posted in Author Interview, Book Tours and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Author Interview with Jennifer Blackstream

  1. Jenny says:

    Thank you so much for hosting me 🙂

Leave a Reply

