Author Interview with Joanne Guidoccio

betweenlandandseabanner

I’m interviewing Joanne Guidoccio today, author of paranormal romance novel “Between Land and Sea”. Welcome to my bog, Joanne, and thanks for answering my questions.

Author Interview

Q: Please tell us about yourself.

From an early age, I loved curling up with a book and losing myself in the stories. In high school, I looked forward to English class and dreamed of writing the great Canadian novel but followed the conventional advice of the times and pursued a career in teaching. In my heart of hearts, I knew that someday I would resurrect that writing dream. When I took advantage of early retirement in 2008, I decided to devote my second act to writing.

Q: Tell us about your book.

The Little Mermaid was my favorite fairy tale, but I struggled with the ending and felt sorry for the mute ex-mermaid who could only smile when the handsome prince married the princess. Knowing that the wedding morning would only bring heartbreak and seal her fate as “foam on the crest of waves” always saddened me.

When the Disney version was released, I wasn’t overly thrilled with their version of a happy ending. I wanted to read about a different kind of mermaid (not so young and not so beautiful) who could achieve a happy and successful life, with or without the prince. Keeping this vision of an older and wiser mermaid firmly in mind, I wrote Between Land and Sea, the first book in the Mediterranean trilogy.

Q: What inspired you to write Between Land and Sea?

On a whim, I attended a series of workshops facilitated by science fiction writer Sarah Totton. Impressed by her work ethic and persistence—she entered the “Writers of the Future Contest” seventeen times before winning—I listened attentively to her writing advice.

Driving home one evening, I toyed with the idea of writing fantasy and thought back to The Little Mermaid.

What if…

A beautiful mermaid is transformed into an overweight middle-aged woman?

Would the man keep her or abandon her on the fog-drenched shores of southwest England?

Inspired by this premise, I started writing.

Q: How much time per week do you spend writing/editing your work? 

My writing goal is 1000 words a day. When the writing is flowing well, I can achieve this goal before early afternoon. As for editing…I tend to devote entire days to that stage of the process. 

Q: If you could meet three authors, which authors would you choose?

I admire late blooming authors (Maeve Binchy, Louise Penny and Claire Cook) who have launched spectacular second acts.

Q: What are you working on at the moment?

 I just completed The Coming of Arabella, the second book in the Mediterranean trilogy. Another mermaid rises from the depths, determined to wreak havoc in Isabella’s life (protagonist of Between Land and Sea).

 

About The Book

BetweenLandAndSea_highResjpgTitle: Between Land and Sea

Author: Joanne Guidoccio

Genre: Paranormal Romance

 After giving up her tail for an international banker, Isabella of the Mediterranean kingdom is aged beyond recognition. The horrified banker abandons her on the fog-drenched shores of southwest England, leaving her to face a difficult human journey as a plain and practically destitute fifty-three-year-old woman.

With the help of a magic tablet and online mermaid support, Isabella evolves into the persona of Barbara Davies. Along the way, she encounters a cast of unforgettable characters, among them former mermaids, supportive and not-so-supportive women, deserving and undeserving men, and several New Agers.

Author Bio

Guidoccio 001In high school, I dabbled in poetry, but decided to wait until I had more life experiences before writing a novel. The original plan was to get a general arts degree and take a few years off to travel and write. Instead, I gave in to my practical Italian side and obtained degrees in mathematics and education.

While I experienced many satisfying moments during my teaching career, I never found the time and energy to write. In 2008, I took advantage of early retirement. Slowly, a writing practice emerged and my articles and book reviews started appearing in newspapers, magazines and online.

My debut novel, Between Land and Sea, a paranormal romance about a middle-aged mermaid, was released by Soul Mate Publishing in September 2013.

I live and write in Guelph, Ontario.

Links

Website:                       http://joanneguidoccio.com

Twitter :                       https://twitter.com/joanneguidoccio

Facebook:                    https://www.facebook.com/authorjoanneguidoccio

LinkedIn:                     https://www.linkedin.com/in/joanneguidoccio

Goodreads:                  https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/23116272-between-land-and-sea

Amazon:                      http://www.amazon.com/Joanne-Guidoccio/e/B00FAWJGCG

TRAILERS

Two trailers for Between Land and Sea:

Father Time Blinked

It’s Your Time

Giveaway

A random winner will win a $25 amazon gift card during the tour. Follow the link below to participate in the tour.

Go here to participate in the tour giveaway.

This entry was posted in Author Interview, Book Tours and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Author Interview with Joanne Guidoccio

  1. Thanks for hosting me, Cassidy. 🙂

  2. Heidi B says:

    Love seeing all of these new book finds, can’t wait!

  3. Bobbie Ann Bohn says:

    Thank you

  4. Heidi & Bobbie, Thanks for dropping by. Good luck with the giveaway. 🙂

Leave a Reply

