Author Interview with Teri Lee

troubledspiritsbanner

Today’s post is an interview with an author of a YA Paranormal, “Troubled Spirits”, Teri Lee.

Author Interview

Q: Please tell us about yourself.

Writing is my passion. When I’m writing, I get a little lost in the story. And I like that. Sometimes I get in so deep, that my characters get a little out of control and does things I didn’t plan. But in the end, it all works out.

I’m also an ER nurse and I love that too. Even if I were able to write full time, I think I’ll always take the time to ‘play’ in the ER. I guess it’s a bit of an adrenaline rush to have someone roll through the door and you look at them and think that they’re not going to make it and a couple hours later, that same person is awake and talking to you. Of course it doesn’t always happen that way, but it’s pretty amazing when it does. I’ve been married for many years and have three grown children and twin granddaughters .

Q: Tell us about your book.

Troubled Spirits is a young adult paranormal novel about teenaged Annie Waters. After the death of her father, she and her mother are forced to move to Maine. Despite her disbelief in the supernatural she is drawn deep into the world of the paranormal. Too deep. Terrorized by an angry spirit, her only hope of survival is to unravel the fifty-year-old mystery surrounding two boys–one missing and one dead.

Q: What inspired you to write Troubled Spirits?

Troubled Spirits was inspired by some ghost hunting friends. I’ll admit that in the beginning, I was a bit like Annie–doubtful. Even though I only went on one ghostly excursion (which was by the way enlightening) the story had taken hold in my head. Once I started it, my fingers could barely keep up.

Q: How much time per week do you spend writing/editing your work?

Someplace between 12 and 40 hours. It really depends on how many days I have to work in the ER and whether or not my family is home when I get home. The perfect day is a day like today. It’s just me and the dogs and no one will be home until 9 or 10 tonight. So I’ve got about ten hours of uninterrupted time. So I ‘ll just open my laptop and let the story flow.

Q: If you could meet three authors, which authors would you choose?

Michael Crichton (I realize it’s impossible) but I love the way he builds a story around scientific possibilities – the what if. Tess Gerritsen – Her character development in the Rizzoli and Isles series was amazing. (I’ve never watched the TV version). Stephen King – I’m simply amazed at all that’s come out of his mind. It’s just astounding!

Q: What are you working on at the moment?

I spend most of my time on Whispering Spirits, the sequel to Troubled Spirits. I also spend a lot of time working on the marketing portion for Troubled Spirits. I’m doing school visits, lining up book signings and keeping my website updated. I’m also working on another YA novel.

About The Book

troubledspiritscoverTitle: Troubled Spirits

Author: Teri Lee

Genre: YA Paranormal

Ghosts aren’t real.

That’s what Annie Waters believed before she snuck into the abandoned Caldwell School. Before the dark presence followed her home. Before she realized, her only hope was to believe.

 

Author Bio

authorteriGrowing up in Maine, Teri Lee spent most of her time reading and exploring in the woods. And that hasn’t changed. When she’s not writing, you’ll still find her lost in a book or out hiking. And if she’s not there, try the ER. But don’t worry, she’s the nurse, not the patient. Teri has three grown children and still resides in Maine with her husband.

 

Links

www.teri-lee-author.com

@TeriLee_author

https://www.facebook.com/author.TeriLee

Purchase: http://www.blackrosewriting.com/childrens-booksya/troubled-spirits

This entry was posted in Author Interview, Book Tours and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

