Author Interview with February Grace

onewishbanner

I’m interviewing February Grace, author of fantasy romance “One Wish”. Thanks for visiting, February, and welcome to my blog! I’m Always happy to host fellow romance authors.

Q: Please tell us about yourself.

A: I’m a poet, writer, and artist. I live in Michigan with my husband and our youngest child—I mean my 10 year old cat – and the cat runs the house…

Q: Tell us about your books

A: One Wish: The Of Stardust Collection is actually two books in one set. The first book is called OF STARDUST, and tells the tale of a young woman finding out that she is meant to become, of all things, a Fairy Godmother! At first she has a difficult time accepting her fate, but she is paired up with a very kind and patient mentor who makes the transition from ‘normal’ human life to ‘secret second life’ much easier, and much more complicated, at the same time.

IN STARLIGHT, the second book in the set, is the sequel and so pairing the two books together seemed like a very cool thing for my publisher to do.

Q: What inspired you to write One Wish?

A: I was inspired to write OF STARDUST largely in part because of growing up on Disney fairy tales…I wanted to do something in fantasy romance and I was bouncing ideas around in my head and as I was half asleep I began to wonder…how do Fairy Godmothers get certified? How come no one ever talks about Fairy Godfathers? What would happen if you modernized the lore and made it unique by including Fairy Godfathers as a major part of the story? From there, it just wrote itself.

I was inspired to write IN STARLIGHT, the sequel, for two reasons: firstly, because I wanted to know how their story would end; and secondly because so many readers asked me for “More about Gus and Till.” So I was happy to provide it.

Q: How much time per week do you spend writing/editing your work?

A: This is a difficult question for me to answer because I am in poor health, and my health dictates when and if I can write at all. I don’t write every day, or even every week. Sometimes, due to medications I must take, I develop writer’s block that can last for months (the longest stretch so far was more than a year without writing anything significant). I am told this is a common thing for artists and writers who must take medications to help manage Bipolar Disorder: that they can interfere with the parts of your brain that control creative activities while they are helping other parts of your brain. Sometimes, something shifts and I will get inspired all at once and write a great amount in a short period of time. That is how all my first drafts are done: usually in days or weeks, not months or years.

I also have limited use of impaired eyesight, so I have to limit how much time I spend reading/looking at a screen every day which can make editing a challenge as well. It’s been a real struggle to continue writing at many points, but I’m glad that if nothing else, I will always be able to say that I have three published novels to my name; two of which are in this ebook collection.

 

Q: If you could meet three authors, which authors would you choose?

A: Douglas Adams. Charlotte Bronte. Alfred, Lord Tennyson.

Q: What are you working on at the moment?

 A: It’s a secret…but it is in the fantasy realm. It’s just a rough first draft right now, but I hope to revise it in November and beyond that…if it’s meant to be a book, then somehow, it will be a book one day. I’m determined not to rush the process, I want it to be the absolute best it can be.

About the Books

of-stardust-collection-v2_itunes-1024x997Title: One Wish – The Of Stardust Collection

Author: February Grace

Genre: Fantasy Romance

Two books, one unforgettable romance!

Till Nesbitt had no idea what she was getting into when she learned the truth about her future from her Great Aunt Tilda: that she was destined to become a Fairy Godmother, because the skills were written into her DNA.

Faced with a whole new world of rules to navigate and a heart full of confusion, will Till be able to live for her work, or will her partnership with sweet, handsome Gus Duncan lead to her downfall?

Author Bio

5820076February Grace is a writer, artist and poet who lives somewhere that is much colder than she would like most of the time.

She sings on key, plays by ear, and is more than mildly obsessed with music, clocks, colors, and meteor showers.

Her poetry, prose, and/or flash fiction have appeared in The Rusty Nail Literary Magazine, Vine Leaves Literary Journal, and Rose and Thorn Journal. Her work can also be found in the following anthologies: Poetry Pact Volume One, Anything Prose…And Poetry, Too! and Orange Karen, Tribute To A Warrior.

GODSPEED, her debut novel, is a labor of love she refers to as “Literary romance with steampunk embellishments.”

Her second novel, OF STARDUST, is a modern, romantic fantasy tale. IN STARLIGHT is its sequel.

Links

Website: http://februarywriter.blogspot.com

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5820076.February_Grace

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/FebruaryGrace

Twitter: @februarygrace

This entry was posted in Author Interview, Book Tours and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Author Interview with February Grace

  1. Thank you so much for kindly hosting this interview! I really appreciate it :~)

Leave a Reply

