Author Interview Hostile Takeover

hostiletakeoverbanner

I’m hosting an author interview for the book tour for “Hostile Takeover”. I hope you enjoy the interview, and thanks for author K.S. Ferguson to respond to my interview questions.

Q: Please tell us about yourself.

I have enough college degrees to paper the living room. I’ve worked a wide variety of jobs, including motel maid, vet tech, vocational rehabilitation counselor, and technical writer in the computer industry. When I got my first tech writing job 15 years ago, I had to pinch myself to believe that a company would pay me big bucks and provide all the latest equipment so that I could spend all day putting words on the screen. Eventually, the shine wore off and I got a good look at the seamy side of corporate life.
Q: Tell us about your book.

It’s a mystery/thriller in a futuristic setting and the sequel to Calculated Risk. Rafe McTavish, self-made man, has given up running his own company to take over the CEO spot at EcoMech. He sees it as the logical way to pursue an unknown blackmailer, and also does it because he owes the EcoMech chairman, Aaron Goldman, a debt of honor. Kama Bhatia, corporate hacker and spy joins him. She’s convinced he’s taking too many risks. She’s there to watch his back.

Rafe is overwhelmed with problems: EcoMech is in deep financial trouble and experiencing labor riots; another corporation is maneuvering to take over EcoMech; and Rafe’s father wants him gone from the company. Kama, the woman he thinks just may be the love of his life, is not a team player. He can’t make a future for himself or EcoMech unless he faces down the demons from his past.


Q: What inspired you to write Hostile Takeover?

Hostile Takeover is the sequel to Calculated Risk. After 15 years working in corporate America, I felt like I had something to say about what goes on there. I’m also interested in people and how events in their lives force them to change. Those are things I explore in the story.


Q: How much time per week do you spend writing/editing your work?

Not nearly as much time as I would like. Real life intrudes on my fictional worlds all too often. If I’ve had a long day on a free-lance writing job, trying to work on a novel is a no-go. At those times, I’ll often read something I’ve already written or grab a notebook and pen to work out answers to story problems instead of pounding on the keyboard. That’s why I find daily writing quotas unrealistic. On a really good day, I’ll spend ten hours writing. Those don’t happen often.


Q: If you could meet three authors, which authors would you choose?

Ursala K LeGuin. I heard her speak once. She’s so smart, so inspiring, and has such interesting things to say. Possibly Dean Koontz. While I’m not a horror fan, I admire his high-quality writing. I don’t know who I’d select for a third. Many of my favorite authors—Dick Francis, Tony Hillerman, Agatha Christie—are deceased now.
Q: What are you working on at the moment?

I’ve just released No Place Like Hell, the first in a supernatural PI series. I’m working on Undercover Madness, the sequel to Touching Madness, a contemporary fantasy set in a universe of alternate dimensions populated by magic-wielding Neanderthals, technologically advanced Raptors, and real estate manipulating demons. In my spare time, I’m trying to promote all my books and find my audience. Promotion is a time-sink that I’ve been avoiding, but that isn’t a successful strategy in the current marketplace.

Hostile Takeover

HTKindleCoverTitle: Hostile Takeover

Author: K.S. Ferguson

Genre: Mystery / Thriller / Sci-Fi

Rafe McTavish, security expert and new CEO at interplanetary mega-corp EcoMech, and his undercover ally Kama Bhatia, hacker and corporate spy, continue their pursuit of a ruthless blackmailer in the sequel to Calculated Risk.

When Rafe’s arrival on EcoMech’s frontier colony world ruins their adversary’s plan for supremacy, events take a deadly turn. As tensions amongst the workers rise and unrest turns to violence, Rafe and Kama must race to unmask a killer before Rafe and his family fall victims to a murderous hostile takeover.

Author Bio

K S Ferguson has published three novels, Calculated Risk, Hostile Takeover, and Touching Madness, and one critically-acclaimed novella, Puncher’s Chance (co-written with James Grayson,) which appeared in the June 2006 edition of Analog Science Fiction and Fact, America’s longest-running science fiction magazine. She enjoys writing suspense and murder mysteries in futuristic and fantasy settings, and also writes fiction in the guise of technical manuals for unfinished software—otherwise known as help documentation.

Links

K S Ferguson website: http://www.ksferguson.net

Hostile Takeover at Smashword link: http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/455719

Hostile Takeover at Amazon link: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00LLP9LTY

Giveaway

Win a set of print copies of the entire series. Follow the link below to participate.
Go here to participate in the giveaway.

This entry was posted in Author Interview, Book Tours and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

