Author Interview Spring Blessings Tour

springblessingsbanner

I’m interviewing S.C. Houff, author of urban fantasy “Spring Blessings.” Enjoy the interview.

Author Interview

Q: Please tell us about yourself.

I grew up in the Appalachian mounts of Virginia. My folks were both transplants from other parts of the country. I’m the youngest of three which means that I learned very early on to try to stand out. I’ve been telling stories since I was really, really young. I didn’t start writing for fun until I was much older. It sounds clichéd but I’ve done about everything from in-home care for the mentally and physically disabled to telemarketing and things between.

I’m currently working on a Masters in American History. I’ve been married to my best friend who is a boy and probably one of the best writing partners that I’ve ever had for almost six years. If I’m not writing then the two of us are working on his podcast which we’re hoping to launch in earnest very soon. I also care for my brother who has Down Syndrome who might be the best editor I’ve ever had outside of my editor who is pretty darn awesome.

 

Q: Tell us about your book. 

Spring Blessings is the start of a seires. We all it from the Department of Arcane sort of like the Naked Gun movies series. Its about a world where not only is magic real but its regulated by the federal government. Spring Blessings focuses around the story of a man named Asher Stone who is the vessal for a major magical being but never knew. So instead of having the training of many other people like him he spent a few years kicking around in addiction. Now that he’s recovered and living a pretty normal life he gets thrown into a weird little world.

Q: What inspired you to write Spring Blessings?

I got sober. That sounds silly but a lot of Asher’s transformation is sort of mine. I had started this story before I got really bad mentally and then stopped. I started working in earnest once I got my life back in order and started being treated for a lifelong battle of mental illness. While it’s a fantasy novel the theme is there; finding a level of value in yourself after recovering from a life of self-destruction. I’m not saying that I’m an awesome super hero….far from it. I wanted to be valued as a person with gifts after I got clean like Asher.


Q: How much time per week do you spend writing/editing your work?

A lot. I spend I would say at least 35 to 40 hours a week doing nothing but writing and personal editing. I’m also notorious for sending text messages to my husband if for no other reason so I can remember a plot point I need to make at some corner of the day.

 

Q: If you could meet three authors, which authors would you choose?

That is little bit of a loaded question. But I would love to meet Kurt Vonnegut, Arthur Miller and Charles Beaumont. That list is some of the biggest names that influenced my love of writing and storytelling especially Vonnegut. My grandmother met him when she was still living in Indiana. According to the family story, he was dating her roommate who might have also been her cousin at the time. My grandmother thought he was a weird guy. I’ve always felt a little bit of love for the man because of that story.

Q: What are you working on at the moment?

I am in the second draft of my second novel. It’s a continuation of the Department of the Arcane story. This one is about vampires.

 

About the Book

BookCoverImageTitle: Spring Blessings

Author: S.C. Houff

Genre: Urban Fantasy

Asher Stone didn’t want to be a hero. After spending two years recovering from an isolating drug habit, his life was getting on track. He had a girlfriend who he loved very much. He was holding down a job and had a repaired relationship with his mother. One day, Asher was attacked by a manticore that escaped the clutches an order of magi and his world gets turned upside down. Now, Asher is dealing with old temptations and new problems and a destiny that he has to embrace or the fate of the world will crash down on him. The only thing Asher can hope is that Blessings and Hope do spring eternal in this first book in a series.

Author Bio

             315439_10100462943504723_608551138_n   S.C. Houff was born in the backwoods of Southwestern Virginia to a small town lawyer and a recovering radical.  She has been a telemarketer, a part-time educator and occasional bodyguard but now is working on writing.  She has started working on her very first novel which is fun for everyone.  When she is not writing she’s perusing her other love which is history.  She also is an avid fan all things nerdy and fun.

                While she’s not received any accolades for her writing, S.C. Houff is a two time Geography B champion.

Links

www.cahircus.com
https://www.facebook.com/doapropaganda
https://twitter.com/Citizen_artzen
http://cahircus.wordpress.com/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

