Author Interview with Corbin Lewars

losinghimgainingyoubanner

I’m hosting an interview with Corin Lewards, author of non-fiction divorce guide “Losing HIm Gaining You” today. Enjoy the interview.

  1. Please tell us about yourself.

  I’ve worked in the Sonoma Desert counting red squirrels, at a clothing option facility, and in a one room school house in the woods, but I gave up these illustrious careers when I was thirty in order to follow my true passion writing. I knew I wanted to be a writer since the age of five, it just took me a while to believe I could have what I wanted. I’ve written many books that never lived a life past my computer, but I am also the author of the Washington State Book Award and PNBA nominee Creating a Life: The Memoir of a Writer and Mom in the Making and  Losing Him, Gaining You: Divorce as Opportunity, which was released in February of this year. My essays have been featured in over twenty-five publications including Mothering, Hip Mama and several writing anthologies and I currently blog for the Seattle PI. I work with emerging writers as a developmental editor and writing coach and moonlight as a mother of two fabulous children, ages 8 and 11. We call rainy Seattle our home.

  1. Tell us about your book.

Losing Him Gaining You serves as a woman’s divorce buddy. If you are considering a divorce or experiencing a break up of any kind, you need a divorce buddy. The book honors your phases of grief, reassures you that you and your children will be fine (better than fine actually, you’ll thrive), and then just like a true friend, tells you to take off your natty old bathrobe, stop watching Law and Order reruns and get out. Go dancing, go hiking, go on a date, go get a massage, it doesn’t matter what you do, but do something with and for yourself. This is what divorce buddies do for one another, while pouring each other hearty glasses of wine.

  1. What inspired you to write Losing Him Gaining You?

When I started reading divorce books, I did not find myself or my friends depicted in the texts. I was younger than many of the women discussed in divorce guides (I was thirty-eight), but more importantly, I didn’t hate my ex or want to seek revenge on him. He didn’t cheat on me, abuse me, or betray me in any way, we merely weren’t compatible anymore. And yes, I was sad, very sad, to break apart my family, but I was also a little bit relieved. And I wanted to find myself again, because I had lost part of myself in marriage and motherhood. I met many other women with inspirational stories about life after divorce and I wanted to share these stories with a larger audience, so I started writing.

  1. How much time per week do you spend writing/editing your writing?

It depends. Sometimes, zero hours. I recently handed my novel in to my editor, so have been loving having a break from it. While editing Creating a Life, I holed myself up in a cabin in the woods and probably spent thirty hours on it in four days. On average, I would say about six hours a week. It doesn’t sound like much because here’s a secret: if you think you’re going to spend eight hours a day writing, most likely you’ll spend eight hours checking your email and staring out the window. So instead, write for a couple of hours a couple of days a week, because in that time, you’ll actually write.

  1. If you could meet three authors, which authors would you choose?

Lorrie Moore to see if she is as interesting and off-beat as her characters. And ten I’d want to sit down with Chris Cleave (author of Little Bee) and ask him all about how he wrote from women’s perspectives so well.

  1. What are you working on at the moment? 

Other people’s books, but soon I’ll be finishing my final revisions to my novel Swings, which explores the question, “Can women really have it all, or are we merely harming ourselves by thinking we can?”

About The Book

Losing Him Gaining YouTitle: Losing Him Gaining You: Divorce as Opportunity

Author: Corbin Lewars

Genre: Non-Fiction, Divorce Guide

Losing Him, Gaining You is a refreshingly honest and uplifting guide through divorce. Based on research and her own experience, Corbin Lewars coaches her readers through tough territory with a direct, straightforward step by step approach to divorce. With inspiration and a large dose of humor, Corbin offers a way forward that will help others trust themselves and make wise choices for their new life.

Author Bio

Corbin Lewars is the author of Creating a Life: The memoir of a writer and mom in the making, which was nominated for the 2011 PNBA and Washington State book awards. Her essays have been featured in over twenty- five publications as well as in several writing and parenting anthologies. For the past fifteen years she has worked with other writers as a developmental editor, coach and writing instructor. She lives in Seattle, WA with her two children and very large cat.

Links

Social Media Links:

http://www.corbinlewars.com

http://blog.seattlepi.com/singlewritermama/

Facebook

Twitter: @CorbinSeattle

Find the Book:

Amazon: amzn.to/1o74pcE

Barnes & Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/losing-him-gaining-you-corbin-lewars/1118672196?ean=9781620153444

This entry was posted in Author Interview, Book Tours and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

