Author Interview with Pj Belanger

thunderstonebanner

I’m interviewing Pj Belanger today, author of epic fantasy “The Thunderstone”. Enjoy the interview.

Author Interview

Please tell us about yourself.

I spent a good part of my life in the scenic hills of Connecticut. I was always an avid reader. My father collected every bit of Science Fiction he could find- we would talk for hours on the subject. The Golden Age of Science Fiction is truly a love of mine. Great writers from Heinlein to Jose Farmer to Asimov to Bloch were my idols. They were great story tellers, something that influences my own work. Of course, then came Tolkien and I was hooked on fantasy too.

After graduating from St. Francis College (UNE) in Maine, I worked in the fast paced newspaper advertising world but always had been a writer of short stories, novel length books of fiction, romance and general interest. My work includes a three volume Epic Fantasy series, The Houses of Storem, a Space Detective series which is just plain good sci-fi fun along with two collection of short stories.

I was deeply involved in writing local NASCAR Driver Profiles and have a book on The History of Stafford Motor Speedway. I love racing in general, but I really love the short tracks. It was a labor of love to write the racing books and I enjoyed writing a regular racing column for a local sports newspaper. I currently live in Florida with my husband, and a trouble making miniature beagle and a mischievous cat.

 

Tell us about your book.

The Thunderstone is the first in a three book series, The Houses of Storem. It sets the stage for the conflict between two kingdoms, the Onyx Kingdom and the Diamond Kingdom. Each of the kingdoms has powerful wizards that draw their magic from the Onyx’s jewels (black pearls, rubies, firestones, etc) or the Diamond’s jewels (white pearls, sapphires, opals, etc).

The Onyx kingdom is ruled by the evil One. He uses his wizard miegas and other monstrous creatures, like the histian snake-people, to terrorize the other kingdom. The Diamond kingdom shares its main power between the King, a Crysltalwielder and a Thunderstone wizard. When needed, together they form a powerful Triad in combat against the One.

This first book in the series finds a young girl, Birl, who is gravely wounded in an attack by an Onyx wizard. The story becomes an adventure that finds an odd group of travelers trying to save the life of the wounded girl who is being pursued by trolls, ogres, pirates, hurks and histians – up rivers, through magical forests and mystical wizard towers, all because she may be the key to preventing the evil One from taking over the DIAMOND KINGDOM.

 

What inspired you to write Thunderstone?

I have always been fascinated by wizard characters. I have an extensive collection of wizard statues, and I noticed that many of them are carrying or are adorned with various types of jewels. Thus came the idea for a world ruled by the power of jewels. Next came the thought of dividing the jewels into good and evil powers. The Houses of Storem trilogy let me explore not only the traditional trolls, dwarfs and elves, but to include new characters such as snake-people, cat-people, half-breeds, Icelanders, and others.

 

How much time per week do you spend writing / editing your work?

I try to spend at least five hours a day writing and editing. At the start of a new book, I spend more time researching the themes, and towards the end I might spend 10-12 hours a day re-reading, editing and cleaning up.

 

If you could meet three authors, which authors would you choose?

Because of the significant influence he had on me in my early years, I would love to have met and spoken to Philip José Farmer. His Riverworld and Tiers World series were so fantastic, and his style so different, that I just found him fascinating.

The second author would be Robert E. Howard. He is now most known for his Conan character, but he was a prolific writer for science-fiction magazines. My father had kept a large collection of old sci-fi magazines and I would devour them. I have never come across another writer with such a mastery of the English language. He died when he was only 30, and I can just imagine how much more he would have done.

The third author I would love to meet is Stephen King. I would like to ask him how he can be so prolific and have such a wide variety of writing themes. My favorite is the Gunslinger series. He is the writer of our generation. It doesn’t hurt that he is also a Red Sox fan!

 

What are you working on at the moment?

I am just about done with Murder on Hilda, the third book in the Skip Brown, Space Detective series. I am also completing volume two of the “Soldiers” short story series. By late this fall, I hope to have the first book in the Mage Riders series (fantasy) completed. This series is about five different young wizards who learn that there is more to magic than just spells.

About The Thunderstone

Cover1-ebook-3Title: The Thunderstone

Author: Pj Belanger

Genre: Epic Fantasy

Empowered by jewels with various magical qualities – wizards, gemnuns, gemmonks and sapphires – along with the Lords they serve, combine to make up the HOUSES OF STOREM, inhabited by dwarfs, icelanders, elves, catpeople and hillpeople who must unite against the evil ONYX KINGDOM.

It is an adventure that finds an odd group of travelers trying to save the life of a wounded girl who is being pursued by trolls, ogres, pirates, hurks and histians – up rivers, through magical forests and mystical wizard towers, all because she may be the key to preventing the evil one from taking over the DIAMOND KINGDOM.

Don’t miss this, the first in a series that brings Birl, Eauxsage, Hadden, Chellie, Nugs and Tem together for the first time.

Author Bio

pjbfacePj Belanger has spent a good part of her life in the scenic hills of Connecticut. She was always an avid reader. “My father collected every bit of Science Fiction he could find- we would talk for hours on the subject. The Golden Age of Science Fiction is truly a love of mine.
Great writers from Heinlein to Jose Farmer to Asimov to Bloch were my idols. They were great story tellers something that influences my own work. Of course, then came Tolkien and I was hooked on fantasy too.”

After graduating from St. Francis College (UNE) in Maine, she worked in the fast pace newpaper advertising world but always had been a writer of short stories, novel length books of fiction, romance and general interest. Her work is a mixture of a three volume book series, The Houses of Storem filled with wizards, dwarfs, merrs, elfs, heroic Kings and albino Icelanders. Her Space Dectective series is just plain good sci fi fun as is her short story book.

Pj was deeply involved in writing local NASCAR Driver Profiles and has a book on The History of Stafford Speedway. “I love racing in general, but I really love the short tracks. It was a labor of love to write the racing books and I enjoyed writing a regular racing column for a local sports newspaper.”

Pj lives in Florida with husband. She enjoys time with her two grandchildren. Her life is enhanced by a trouble making miniature beagle and a mischievous cat.

Links

Website: http://www.pjbelanger.com/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pj.belanger.author

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Pj-Belanger/e/B004KC89HA

 

This entry was posted in Author Interview, Book Tours and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

