Author Interview with K.K. Weil

atthisstagebanner

I’m interviewing K.K. Weil today, author of YA/NA crossover “At This Stage”. Enjoy the interview!

Q: Please tell us about yourself.

I’ve been in love with reading and writing for as long as I can remember. I was always jotting down short stories when I was young. Great food and traveling are also passions of mine and I’m happiest when I can combine all of these. I used to teach elementary school, which I also loved and may go back to one of these days. My husband and two children keep me busy, and when I’m not writing, I can probably be found at one of their activities.

Q: Tell us about your book.

At This Stage is a story about two people who are unexpectedly thrown together and develop a bond neither one was looking for. Here’s a little bit about it:

The attractive man sleeping on her couch was never like a father to her. That would’ve been much easier…

Outspoken seventeen-year-old Kaitlyn Fowler loses her mother, gets taken in by a gorgeous family friend, and discovers her mysterious biological father has always known she existed. All within a few months.

At twenty-three, Jackson Wall lives without a single obligation. That is, until the daughter of his late public relations manager and dear friend is threatened with foster care. Shocking even himself, the rising playwright volunteers to become her guardian. Eloquent and incredibly talented, Kaitlyn comes to mean more to Jackson than he ever imagined. Or wanted. Jackson struggles with their friendship as it develops into something much more complex. While Kaitlyn can’t deny her feelings, she knows what will happen if she pushes him too far. As they search for Kaitlyn’s unknown father, she wonders if Jackson will reject her, too, or if she can convince him that something wrong to begin with can become right over time.

Q: What inspired you to write At This Stage?

I’m usually inspired by conversations I have with people. Thought-provoking questions without any right or wrong answers have always interested me. The topic of conversation one day was impossible relationships. Long after the discussion was over, I found myself wondering what would happen if two people were thrust into a situation where it was inappropriate for them to be together. And could something happen over time that would change their circumstance and make the relationship okay after all? Thus, the inspiration for At This Stage.

Q: How much time per week do you spend writing/editing your work?

I try to write every day. Some days, that means cranking out a slew of pages all at once and other days it means going over a single paragraph ad nauseam to get it right. Can’t say I love those days. Weekends are harder because my kids actually expect to have their mother pay attention to them when they’re home from school. But I try to squeeze in some writing time anyway.

If you could meet three authors, which authors would you choose?

It’s hard to limit it. There would be so many. But today, I’d have to say Veronica Roth, Margaret Atwood and Ayn Rand. I would love to pick the brains of each of those women.

Q: What are you working on at the moment?

Griffin is a character I didn’t initially intend to be in the book. The more I wrote about him, though, the more I connected with him. I became very curious about what made him tick. So now I’m writing Griffin’s story. Knowing his back story, about his family, what got him into sculpting to begin with and why he’s so brooding, makes me love him even more. I’m also working on a young adult novel that is not connected to At This Stage, which is centered around family dynamics. So I’m keeping busy.

At This Stage

coverTitle: At This Stage

Author: K.K. Weil

Genre: Young Adult / New Adult Crossover

The attractive man sleeping on her couch was never like a father to her. That would’ve been much easier…

Outspoken seventeen-year-old Kaitlyn Fowler loses her mother, gets taken in by a gorgeous family friend, and discovers her mysterious biological father has always known she existed. All within a few months.

At twenty-three, Jackson Wall lives without a single obligation. That is, until the daughter of his late public relations manager and dear friend is threatened with foster care. Shocking even himself, the rising playwright volunteers to become her guardian. Eloquent and incredibly talented, Kaitlyn comes to mean more to Jackson than he ever imagined. Or wanted.

Jackson struggles with their friendship as it develops into something much more complex. While Kaitlyn can’t deny her feelings, she knows what will happen if she pushes him too far. As they search for Kaitlyn’s unknown father, she wonders if Jackson will reject her, too, or if she can convince him that something wrong to begin with can become right over time.

Print ISBN: 978-1-937070-50-2

Ebook ISBN: 978-1-937070-51-9

Author Bio

IMG_1083K.K. Weil grew up in Queens, a subway ride from New York’s theater district, which had her hooked early on a mix of major musicals and low-budget one-man shows. Weil, a graduate of N.Y.U. and former teacher, now enjoys writing her own dramas. She lives near the beach in New Jersey, where she is at work on her second novel.

Links

http://goo.gl/GPpwM3
https://www.facebook.com/KKWeilAuthor
On Twitter – @KK_Weil
KKWeil.blogspot.com

This entry was posted in Author Interview, Book Tours and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

