Author Interview with Jami Gray

shadowsmoonbanner

Interview time! This time I’m interviewing Jami Gray, author of “Shadow’s Moon”, a paranormal romance / UF novel. You can also win print copies of all three books in the series (US/CA only) or eBook copies of all three books in the series (international).

Author Interview

1) Please tell us about yourself.

Well, if you’ve read my bio, you know I come from a HUGE family. It’s not a joke, promise. It’s very real.  Here’s the fun part—I am the least social person you’ll probably ever meet. No, really. In real life, where people come up and hold actual conversations, I have to rely on my Knight in Slightly Muddy Armor for support. I’m pretty shy until the ice gets broken. Then, woo baby, I’m right in there. I have two boys because someone up there knows I’d never survive raising girls. I have nothing but admiration for those who have accepted that challenge.  My Prankster Duo are two of the greatest things I’ve ever done, well, next to marrying my best friend. So yes, I’m very outnumbered in my home, but they’ll tell you it feels the other way around.

I sport a type-A personality, even managed to get a Master’s in Organizational Management. Yep, it’s a real degree. It’s the one behind the individual who comes into a company, looks at it and says, “You know, guys, you’re going about this all wrong. Here’s what you need to do…”  However, no matter how much in order the rest of my life must be, I do not outline, I detest outlines. Maybe because they remind me of all my college research papers and Journalism assignments. All that structure just sucks my creativity down into a deep, dark hole. However, I do have very detailed character sketches, down to what their homes look like, what their quirks are, fav foods, you name it, I have it written down.  Plus I have to know my major plot points, and I think that’s my saving grace when I write.

 

2) Tell us about your book.
I thought when I sat down to write the third book, that bringing Xander and Warrick to life would be easy.  *wiping brow* No such luck. Seriously, who knew writing somewhat well adjusted characters would be so damn difficult?  I mean, if you’re a fairly happy, balanced person shouldn’t that be easy to translate? Yeah, no.  Plus doing a story where the romance actually holds center stage was a bit of a challenge for me. Instead of having to worry just about the big bad lurking in the shadows which in SHADOW’S MOON are the Bitten wolves turning psychotic and hunting humans, which in turn threatens to out the Kyn to the humans, many of Xander and Warrick’s struggles are actually found inside themselves and how they view their “relationship”. How do you drag a tormented, alpha male out into the light, especially when you’re years younger, independent, and quirky? Does it matter if others in the Kyn world see you as his weakness, when in reality, you’re his strength? What if that’s how the misguided ass sees you? What then? While Xander’s past has some heart breaking moments, it’s no where near as twisty and dark as Raine McCord (the main character in the first two books). For goodness sakes, Xander’s mother actually pops up in SHADOW’S MOON.
3) What inspired you to write Shadow’s Moon?
Xander made her first appearance in SHADOW’S EDGE, and although Raine McCord kept the spotlight in hand, Xander had no qualms about speaking up. She made sure to let me know there was a book in there just for her. Not to mention how in love I’ve always been with wolves in general, then to add in what happens to a tormented alpha when he mets a female that will rock his world and drag his furry ass out of the dark. Then my writing group issued a challenge—writer a romance. I, of course, accepted, because when challenges are issued, they must be accepted. So yep, Shadow’s Moon was a fun write.
4) How many hours do you write per week?
20-30 on good weeks. I actually aim for word count versus time, so I try to do 5-7 pages a day, which comes out to roughly 1500-2000 words a night.

5) If you could meet three authors, which authors would you choose?
Ohh (rubbing hands together), just three? (Deep breath) I would love to sit down and talk to the following, even though I’ve seen some of them at conferences (such as the Romantic Times Booklover’s one that just happened in New Orleans):
Patricia Briggs—love her character development, I want her secret recipe.
Jim Butcher—he and Kevin Hearne are great at sliding in that heart-wrenching humor.
Ilona Andrews—world building, she and Gordon have it down and I’d love to see it happen from beginning to end.
I have more names to add to that list, but these three are a great start…

6) What are you working on at the moment?
Research, lots and lots of research. I’m delving deeper into psychic abilities, realistic terrorist threats, guns, and the military to make sure this next PSY-IV book has my readers hanging on by their fingertips.

Shadow’s Moon

Shadows Moon CoverTitle: Shadow’s Moon

Author: Jami Gray

Genre: Paranormal Romance / Urban Fantasy

Even a wild heart can be broken…

A blonde, a brunette and a monster walk into a bar and all hell breaks loose.

It should have been the start of a bad joke, but days from a full moon Xander Cade, Tracker for the Northwest Motoki Pack, finds nothing funny about confronting an enraged Shifter in a crowded Portland nightclub filled with unsuspecting humans. The resulting carnage frays an already thin veil of secrecy shielding the supernatural Kyn community from public scrutiny, and ensures she can’t escape the one man she’s been determined to avoid, her Alpha and mate, Warrick Vidis.  Dominating, protective and compelling, Warrick threatens her individuality like no other.

As the Northwest Alpha wolf, compromise isn’t in Warrick Vidis’s vocabulary, but when his reluctant mate, Xander Cade, refuses to leave off the hunt for a killer, he has no qualms using whoever or whatever necessary to protect her or his pack. A series of unusual deaths involving lone wolves, along with anonymous threats against him and his Pack, begin to jeopardize his normal steely control. Add in Xander’s continual reluctance to fully accept their Soul bond, and the line between intellect and instinct begins to blur, leaving him wondering if one woman’s love and acceptance will be enough to save both man and wolf.

As the danger escalates, threatening not just their Pack but those closest to them, Warrick and Xander must find a way to trust each other and accept their rare bond or risk losing everything-their pack, their friends and each other.

Author Bio

Jami GrayJami Gray grew up on the Arizona-Mexico border, and was adopted at the age of 14 to suddenly become the fifth eldest of 37 children. She graduated from Arizona State University with a Bachelor’s in Journalism and three minors-History, English, and Theater. (Decision-making was not her forte at the time.)  Shortly after marrying her techie-geek hubby (who moonlighted as her best friend in high school) she completed a Masters in Organizational Management from University of Phoenix Oregon.

Now, years later, she’s back in the Southwest where she’s outnumbered in her own home by two Star Wars obsessed boys, one Star Wars obsessed husband, and an overly-friendly, 105-pound male lab.  Delving into the wild paranormal worlds where romance collides with suspense and Urban Fantasy is queen, manages to salvage her sanity. Or so we let her believe…

 

Links

Website: http://www.JamiGray.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/jamigray.author

Facebook Author Page: https://www.facebook.com/JamiGrayUFWriter

Twitter: https://twitter.com/JamiGrayAuthor

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/JamiGray

Google+: https://google.com/+JamiGray

Amazon Author Page: http://amzn.com/e/B006HU3HJI

Black Opal Books: www.BlackOpalBooks.com

Muse It Up Publishing: http://museituppublishing.com

Giveaway

Print copies of all three books in the series (US/CA only) and eBook copies (INT) giveaway:

Go here to participate.

This entry was posted in Author Interview, Book Tours and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Author Interview with Jami Gray

  1. Jami Gray says:

    Reblogged this on Jami Gray's Blog and commented:
    I’m grilled under the hot lights of Cassidy Crimson’s places. See how I fared…

  2. Jami Gray says:

    Thank you, Cassidy, for letting me come by and share Shadow’s Moon. Wishing the best of luck to all for the tour wide giveaway.

Leave a Reply

