Author Interview with Sarah Daltry

orangeblossombanner

I’m interviewing Sarah Daltry today, author of new adult contemporary romance “Orange Blossom”. Enjoy the interview.

Author Interview

1) Please tell us about yourself.

I’m not really interesting. I’m an extremely boring and fairly antisocial girl who lives with her cats and husband. I work three jobs at this point and write in the middle of that somehow. I went to school for writing, which seems to make people angry, so I don’t talk much about it. I love classic books and theatre and traveling and indie movies.

2) Tell us about your book.

Orange Blossom is part of the Flowering series, although each of the books can really be read as a standalone. Personally, I think it’s nice to read a story in order because I did write them with a goal in mind. It’s called Flowering because it’s about growth. You really see the characters growing if you read the whole series. This story in particular is sort of the climax of the series, if you view the books themselves on the plot diagram/narrative arc.

3) What inspired you to write “Orange Blossom”? 

It was an important part of the series, but the elements of this novel needed to be addressed. I love Jack as a character, and I am happy to give him hope through Lily. However, life isn’t that easy. Realistically, there was no way that Jack didn’t go through what he goes through in this novel and I wanted to deal with it. I wanted to test their relationship, because love is about surviving the hard times as well as the easy times.

4) How many hours do you write per week??

I am a binge writer. I will go long periods of time without writing, and then write nonstop for around 10 hours a day for a few days. Everyone says one should write daily, but I end up throwing out most of what I write when forced.

5) If you could meet three authors, which authors would you choose?

I’m not sure. Hemingway and Salinger, both of whom are dead. I have a lot of living writers I like, but I’m pretty antisocial.

6) What are you working on at the moment?

About ten different things, but I’m going to finally finish a YA fantasy I’ve been writing for years.

About the Book

young pretty kissing wedding couple against skyTitle: Orange Blossom

Author: Sarah Daltry

“I’ve never understood a year. A year was always a measurement of something bad for me. A year in my father’s prison sentence, a year since my mom’s death, a year left of school before I could get far, far away from here. Now, as I look down the end of my college career, with only a little more than a semester to go, a year seems like something magical. It has been a year since Lily chose me, since she sat with me on the old swing set and made a decision that I was worthy of her. And every minute of the entire year has been better than the last.”

You already know their stories: Lily, the perfect princess, always living someone else’s life. And Jack, the broken boy, who had stopped believing in hope. Somehow, though, they found each other and what was one night blossomed into a love story.

Now, a year later, Jack and Lily are dreaming of the future. Despite all of his promises to himself that he would never be indebted to anyone, Jack makes a new promise – this time to Lily – that he will be there for her forever. But when life unravels for them, he starts to pull away, and Lily worries he’s out of reach for good.

When Jack does the unthinkable, Lily is left destroyed. Is it possible to have a happily ever after? Does love ever really save anyone?

Links

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Orange-Blossom-Flowering-Sarah-Daltry-ebook/dp/B00JDYCMS2/ref=tmm_kin_swatch_0?_encoding=UTF8&sr=1-2&qid=1398542472

Apple: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/orange-blossom-flowering-novel/id842981858?mt=11

Barnes and Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/orange-blossom-sarah-daltry/1118953312?ean=9781497358379

Kobo: http://store.kobobooks.com/en-US/ebook/orange-blossom-4

All Romance: https://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-orangeblossomafloweringnovel-1452871-149.html

Smashwords: https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/420172

This entry was posted in Author Interview, Book Tours and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

