Author Interview with Rachel L. Demeter

frostofspringtimebanner

1) Please tell us about yourself.

Thanks so much for having me on your blog! Let’s see … I live in the beautiful hills of Anaheim, California with Teddy, my silly Polish Lowland Sheepdog, and high school sweetheart of (almost) eleven years. Richard and I began dating during our freshman year and have been together ever since. He’s truly my soul mate and greatest inspiration … I’m so grateful to have found him at such a young age! 🙂 I recently graduated from Chapman University’s film school with a BA in Screenwriting and am now pursing my Masters in Teaching (with an emphasis in English).

Writing is my life’s blood, my passion, my obsession. I’ve been imagining stories since I was a child. Before I learned to physically read or write, my mom would jot them down for me.

Aside from writing, my interests include researching history (especially 19th century France and the Middle Ages), avidly reading, singing, cooking, health and fitness, playing the violin, videogames (I’m a bit of a nerd at heart), loyally following television shows, philosophy, and animals.


2) Tell us about your book.

On a cold Parisian night, Vicomte Aleksender de Lefèvre forges an everlasting bond with a broken girl during her darkest hour, saving her from a life of abuse and misery. But while Aleksender is drawn away by war, Sofia matures into a stunning young woman—and upon his tormented return, she alone might bring an end to the winter in his heart.

Writing The Frost of Springtime was an intensely emotional experience and the product of a four year love affair with the hero. I have always held a special affinity for tortured protagonists, and Aleksender de Lefèvre is very much a wounded soul.

Severely scarred inside and out, his twisted past and the horrors of the battlefield have hardened his heart—and Sofia’s love and compassion presents the ideal counterpoint to his darkness. Like Aleksender, she suffers from a tragic, ill-fated past.

In addition to the romance and sensuality, The Frost of Springtime offers a vivid perspective into the war-torn streets of revolutionary Paris. My book is truly a historical romance; the 1871 Paris Commune plays a significant role in both the story and characterizations. Laced with Gothic undertones, conflicted characters, and forbidden love, it’s a journey of intense emotional stakes and plenty of twists and turns! 😉


3) What inspired you to write The Frost of Springtime? 

The Frost of Springtime emerged from my love of French history and edgy, unconventional romances. I have always been drawn to the darker facets of love, and this served as a central inspiration for the characters and storyline.

I had yearned to create a pair of star-crossed lovers whose deep affection for each other could triumph over seemingly impossible odds. Aleksender and Sofia are two flawed characters who are made perfect through their love.

Nineteenth century France has always been a passion of mine, and, after some research, I quickly knew it would be the ideal setting for Aleksender and Sofia. It was a time of conflict, political intrigue, art, and romance. I grew up on Paris-set musicals, such as Les Misérables and The Phantom of the Opera—and they continue to inspire my imagination and characters. After researching the 1871 Paris Commune, I molded the era into a dynamic backdrop for Aleksender and Sofia’s love story to take place. In the process, I learned more than I could’ve ever imagined about the period. Quite simply, I fell head over heels in love with France!


4) How much time per week do you spend writing / editing your work?

I track my progress by word count rather than hours. When I’m “in the zone,” I’ll easily knock out 3,000+ words per day. Other times, when I’m distracted or suffering from the dreaded writer’s block (cringe), I’ll manage about 500-1,000 words. So, it varies greatly—but I try to set a minimum word count each day. Alternatively, some days I’ll concentrate on research, plotting, developing the characters, or just brainstorming new scene concepts. I like a mixed bag!

I begin editing after I’ve completed the first draft … usually 2-3 chapters daily. I’m actually about to start the rewrite for my second novel, Finding Gabriel. Revisions are always so exciting. For me, it’s when I unleash my full creative potential. My stories and characters truly come to life at this stage.


5) If you could meet three authors, which authors would you choose?

Only three? Hmm … I’d have to go with the genre masters: Stephen King, George R.R. Martin, and Kathleen E. Woodiwiss.


6) What are you working on at the moment?

I’m thrilled to say that I have several novels lined up, including Finding Gabriel, an edgy historical romance set during the Napoleonic Wars, a historical romance/horror hybrid set in an Victorian asylum, a medieval historical romance, a few contemporary romances, and a horror.

Do you reckon I’ll find time to sleep?

BOOK INFO

THE FROST OF SPRINGTIME - Cover ArtTitle: The Frost of Springtime

Author: Rachel L. Demeter

Genres: Historical Romance, Historical Fiction

Publication Date: 2/14/14

Publisher: Black Lyon Publishing

Kindle Price: $3.99 (Amazon Prime Members read FREE)

Paperback Price: $14.74

Book Blurb:

To rescue her was to rescue his own soul. 

On a cold Parisian night, Vicomte Aleksender de Lefèvre forges an everlasting bond with a broken girl during her darkest hour, rescuing her from a life of abuse and misery. Tormented by his own demons, he finds his first bit of solace in sheltering little Sofia Rose.

But when Aleksender is drawn away by the Franco-Prussian war, the seasons pass. And in that long year, Sofia matures into a stunning young woman—a dancer with an understanding of devotion and redemption far surpassing her age.

Alongside his closest friend, Aleksender returns home to find that “home” is gone, replaced by revolution, bloodshed, betrayal—and a love always out of reach. Scarred inside and out, he’s thrust into a world of sensuality and violence—a world in which all his hours have now grown dark, and where only Sofia might bring an end to the winter in his heart.

Inspired by the 1871 Paris Commune, The Frost of Springtime is a poignant tale of revolution, redemption, and the healing power of love.
ADD TO GOODREADS

WATCH THE TRAILER

AUTHOR BIO

Rachel L. Demeter lives in the beautiful hills of Anaheim, California with Teddy, her goofy lowland sheepdog, and high school sweetheart of ten years. She enjoys writing dark, edgy romances that challenge the reader’s emotions and examine the redeeming power of love.

Imagining stories and characters has been Rachel’s passion for longer than she can remember. Before learning how to read or write, she would dictate stories while her mom would jot them down for her. She has a special affinity for the tortured hero and unconventional romances. Whether sculpting the protagonist or antagonist, she always ensures that every character is given a soul.

Rachel strives to intricately blend elements of romance, suspense, and horror. Some common themes her stories never stray too far from: forbidden romance, soul mates, the power of love to redeem, mend all wounds, and triumph over darkness.

Her dream is to move readers and leave an emotional impact through her words.

AUTHOR LINKS

Website
Facebook
Twitter
Goodreads
Google+
Pinterest

RACHEL L. DEMETER’S NEWSLETTER.

BOOK LINKS

Amazon (Kindle eBook) *Amazon Prime members read the Kindle Edition for FREE!
Amazon (Paperback)
Barnes & Noble

GIVEAWAY

There’s a giveaway for a $25 Amazon gift card during the tour. Click on the link below to participate!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

This entry was posted in Author Interview, Book Tours and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Author Interview with Rachel L. Demeter

  1. Thank you so much for hosting me on your wonderful blog and conducting an awesome interview. I truly appreciate the support! 🙂

  2. Pingback: The Frost of Springtime Virtual Blog Tour! | Rachel L. Demeter

  3. Pingback: Author Interview at Cassidy Crimon’s Blog | Rachel L. Demeter

Leave a Reply

