Author Interview with Joe Corso

starlightclub

I’m interviewing Joe Corso, author of crime novel “The Starlight Club”. Welcome to my blog, Joe, and thanks for answering my questions.

1) Please tell us about yourself.

I grew up in Queens, New York and was drafted into the army in 1954 where I spent a year and a half in the far east. I joined the New York City Fire Department until I retired due to a line of duty injury. I met my wife Giovanna when she was fifteen years old and I was seventeen. We’ve been married 56 years now.

2) Tell us about your book.

Much of the book is based on many true incidents that happened while I was a young man, and most of the characters were based on real people. Of course I’ve taken literary license and fabricated some of the story.

3) What inspired you to write The Starlight Club?

I have 13 grandchildren and I was naive enough to think that maybe I could write a book and make a lot of money to help pay for my grandchildren’s college education. Needless to say, I had a rude awakening.

4) How many hours do you write per week?

It varies, but I guess when I get started I will write anywhere between 5-8 hours a day for at least 5 days in the week.

5) If you could meet three authors, which authors would you choose?

Well Vince Flynn was my favorite but he passed away so I would say that Mark Greaney who writes the Gray Man books and ghosts Tom Clancy’s books. The second author would be the best selling author R.W. Peake who writes the wonderful Marching With Caesar books, and finally Mickey Spillane if he’s still around because Mike Hammer was a street guy and I like to write about street guys.

6) What are you working on at the moment?

I’ve completed Lafitte’s Treasure and it’s being edited now. This is a very different type of book that I’ve written, at least for me. This book has a lot of Masonic symbolism coursing through the story and it’s a treasure story that starts just before the war of 1812 when Jean Lafitte and General Andrew Jackson met. 200 years later his treasure is once again being sought after.

The Starlight Club

Cover to useTitle: The Starlight Club
Author: Joe Corso
Genre: Crime
The Starlight Club was jumping . . .

“They looked like mob guys. They had that arrogance exuded by those who liked to intimidate – those who were the proud purveyors of fear.” Amidst the nightly gaiety was the back room, where business deals were made, hits were ordered, and territories were divided. An image of the author is also attached.

Trenchie not being a “rat” is just released from his ten year prison sentence. A new life is waiting – complete with envelopes of money and a steak house to call his own. He finds the woman of his dreams who brings along ex-husband baggage. Hit man Jimmy The Hat finds unexpected fame in the most unlikely of places, yet he always stays true to the “boys”, especially Big Red. “Crazy Joey Gallo” and his brothers break away from the Profaci family and go “rogue, on their own now. They split their gang into several small groups and spread them out over the five boroughs.”

The Starlight club can be purchased on amazon http://www.amazon.com/The-Starlight-Club-ebook/dp/B0098L3LQW/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1353949837&sr=1-1&keywords=the+starlight+club

Author Bio

Joe CorsoMove to Florida, see the world, and…. Write 15 novels!? It may have started out as the typical retirement, but author Joe Corso decided to take a more adventurous route. After a successful, yet tearful, career as a fireman, Corso began writing as a way to fund the Ivy League educations of his grandchildren. He published his first book at 75, and since has written 14 novels and 9 short stories.

One of his most popular novels, The Starlight Club, won the 2012 eLit True Crime category, and an honorable mention in the 2013 reader’s favorite book contest. FIRE: Box 598, a collection of short nonfiction stories of fires and occurrences surrounding them when he worked with the FDNY, won the 2013 Reader’s Favorite contest in the Historical non-fiction category. With cross-genre skills, Corso has written Westerns, Gritty Crime Dramas and even fantasy. He has received a tremendous reception from his work “Fire Stories” by many Fire Departments. Rising from the ashes, retired New York Firefighter Joe Corso finds himself lost in his writing hoping never to find his way back.

Links

http://www.corsobooks.com
https://www.facebook.com/thestarlightclubjoecorso
http://youtu.be/TwSI6dMclH8

 

This entry was posted in Author Interview, Book Tours and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

