Author Interview with Annie Cosby

learningtoswimbanner

I’m interviewing Annie Cosby today. She’s the author of YA paranormal romance “Learning to Swim”. Enjoy the interview!

1)         Please tell us about yourself.

I’m a YA author and editor who loves mythology and romance! I was raised in St. Louis, Missouri, in a family full of writers, and now I live in Galway, Ireland, where I write and freelance edit. I’ve always been an avid reader, and I’ve been writing since I was very little. My dad was a freelance writer who worked from home, so I would sit at the old computer in our basement spinning stories with very bad grammar while my dad worked across the room. I’m still writing, but now my stories have slightly better grammar!

I also love hearing from other avid readers and writers! Say hi to me on Twitter @AnnieCosby!

2)         Tell us about your book.

Learning to Swim, the first book in the Hearts Out of Water seriesis a YA contemporary novel with a dash of magic. I have trouble categorizing it because, though it has fantastical and paranormal elements, it really is a book where the magic takes backstage to the characters and the challenges they face in their contemporary lives. Most of my stories are character-driven, because that’s the type of book I love to read.

In this one, the story follows a spoiled girl named Cora who finds herself wrapped up in this world of locals in the town where her family is summering. Of course she meets a boy who challenges all her beliefs, and she befriends a little old woman who thinks she’s a selkie and who challenges Cora’s realities. I will tell you this: I love a good cliffhanger!

 

3)         What inspired you to write Learning to Swim?

Growing up in the landlocked American Midwest meant the ocean was always a bit of a mystery to me. I was a bit scared of it but fascinated as well. Then in college I studied abroad in Ireland, where the ocean is never very far away, and sea mythology is prominent. These myths fascinated me, because they mirrored the same fears and fantasies I had as a kid. The selkie myth was my favorite of them all!

4)         How many hours per week do you spend writing?

I spend about 20 hours a week writing and 20 hours a week editing for other authors and a few publishers. I’m trying to increase the number of hours I spend writing, but at the same time, I consider reading an important part of the process, too.

 

5)         If you could meet three authors, which authors would you choose?
 

This is a tough one. For a long time I dreamed of meeting my favorite author, Maeve Binchy, an Irish writer who wrote fabulously character-driven stories. I studied in Ireland for about 6 months in 2010, and in a weird twist of fate, I found out the week I was leaving that my relatives in Ireland were actually very good friends with Maeve. I was sure that the next time I was there, I would get a chance to meet her. Then, in 2012, Maeve passed away just weeks before I was scheduled to move back to Ireland. I was devastated. But I do have a signed copy of one of her books that I’ll cherish forever. She’s a wonderful writer that is very much missed.

If I had to pick 3 living writers to meet, I think I would choose J.K. Rowling, Meg Cabot, and George R.R. Martin.

 

6)         What are you working on at the moment? 
 

I’m currently working on Learning to Live, the next book in the Hearts Out of Water series. I also have a contemporary romance called Expect Delays that’s currently being shopped to agents and publishers. But I much prefer the writing to the business part!

Learning to Swim

LEARNING TO SWIM coverTitle: Learning to Swim

Author: Annie Cosby

Genre: YA Paranormal Romance

When Cora’s mother whisks the family away for the summer, Cora must decide between forging her future in the glimmering world of second homes where her parents belong, or getting lost in the bewitching world of the locals and the mystery surrounding a lonely old woman who claims to be a selkie creature—and who probably needs Cora more than anyone else.

Through the fantastical tales and anguished stories of the batty Mrs. O’Leary, as well as the company of a particularly gorgeous local boy called Ronan, Cora finds an escape from the reality of planning her life after high school. But will it come at the cost of alienating Cora’s mother, who struggles with her own tragic memories?

As the summer wanes, it becomes apparent that Ronan just may hold the answer to Mrs. O’Leary’s tragic past—and Cora’s future.

 

Author Bio

Author Photo1 - Annie CosbyAnnie Cosby is a YA author and editor from St. Louis, Mo. She splits her time – and her wardrobe – between St. Louis and Galway, Ireland.

She’s currently working on the second Hearts Out of Water novel, Learning to Live, and would absolutely love to hear from some YA readers!

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads

This entry was posted in Author Interview, Book Tours and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Author Interview with Annie Cosby

Leave a Reply

