Author Interview with Christine Blackthorn

bymychoicebanner

I’m interviewing Christine Blackthorn today, author of erotic romance novella “By My Choice”. Thanks for answering my questions, Christine!

Author Interview

1)         Please tell us about yourself

I am boring – very boring. During the day I am an academic with the only purpose in life to torture my students, but when I close my eyes I meet elves and vampires, lead charges aside a king in revolutions and climb over roofs with assassins. What is interesting is that most of these characters are still there when I open my eyes. They just lose their pointed ears and teeth and look like normal humans, some even look like my students. Many look like my friends.

2)         Tell us about your book.

“By my choice…” is in some ways a little bit of a coming of age story, not the growing up we do as teenagers but about one of those little moments you come across as an adult. As the title suggests it is about choice, the choice to make the best of what you are given. It is about a young woman in an impossible situation, at a waypoint where she realises that sometimes others are just as caught in reality as we are. In her case the other is a vampire. She has the choice to either trust him or fight him. The important thing is that so does he. In some ways the book is more about friendship, that deep intimate friendship which underlies every lasting romantic relationship, then it is about any ideal of love.

3)         What inspired you to write By My Choice?

“By my choice” is an accident, or a side-story that got out of hand. I have always told stories, first as a child verbally and then when my friends started to move away I wrote them down. By my choice is a story that developed from a novel I wrote for a friend. It is the story of another ErGer. But the world around the novel simply kept on living and so more stories developed.

I am editing the actual novel at the moment but when the beginnings of “By my choice” appeared on the website I promised some impatient readers to bring out this novella, and the one coming out in two weeks “By my side..” (Yes, the Orcs are coming soon, hold your horses), before that.

4)         How many hours per week do you spend writing?
I write every free minute – though there are not as many free minutes as I would like. But only a small amount of the stories get written down. I tell myself stories almost constantly – when I walk somewhere, in the gym, sometimes even in faculty meetings (though that remains a secret 😉 ).

So I cannot say how many hours I spent writing but I can say that I write between 2000 and 5000 words a day. I actually feel almost physically unhappy if I cannot write a certain amount – kind of like not being able to go to the gym.

5)         If you could meet three authors, which authors would you choose?

Living or dead?

Dead: Voltaire, Kant and Jaspers – I told you I am boring!

Alive: Anne Bishop, Cherise Sinclair and … this is hard! There are too many. I am not sure I can chose only three.

6)         What are you working on at the moment? 

I always work on a few things. I am editing the other novella and the novel in the series “By my side…” and “A Variety of Chains” and writing the second novel “A Variety of Whips”.

And then there is an erotic scifi novel I am writing on. Little snippets of the worlds I create are on my website (www.christineblackthorn.eu). As I originally wrote the stories for friends all across the globe (I went to 12 schools in 5 countries so I collected friends all over) some of the stories which began to be written for them are still developing in the newsletter and on there.

By My Choice

By My Choice ...Title: By My Choice

Author: Christine Blackthorn

Genre: Erotic Romance

Sometimes the path of life seems inevitable — what does it mean to choose?

Jennifer Ashton has spent her whole life in one Supernatural court or the other but the realities of what this means are only brought home to her when her best friend is forced to sell her to a vampire, and not any vampire, but one she knows well. Caught in the double betrayal of friendship and love she needs to decide what her life is going to be.

Jennifer is a financial manager, her control over every aspect of her own life complete. She does not allow anything to upset her rationality, no emotion, no sensation, no desire. The only weakness she has accepted is her unlimited loyalty to her best friend, the friend who betrays her by selling her to a competitor. She joins her new master in Paris where she begins to realise that he has as little choice as she does. Can she accept that by giving up everything, by giving him everything, they might both regain their lives?

This novella is an erotic romance with elements of mild bondage

Author Bio

imagemesmallIn “real” life, I am an academic with degrees in Political Science, Economics, Philosophy and Law and an insatiable desire to confound, baffle and disconcert my students. Someone once suggested to me the reason for my stories lay in the desire to offset the tedium and rationality of academic life. He wasn’t an academic or he would have known better.  It is best to use research against tedium, students to offset the rationality and an unlimited supply of stressballs for the faculty meetings. The stories? Well, they are just for me – like a mental manicure.

Links

Buy your copy on Amazon:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/By-My-Choice-Valentines-Stories-ebook/dp/B00I3PRMQO/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1391003900&sr=8-1&keywords=christine+blackthorn

http://www.amazon.com/By-My-Choice-Valentines-Stories-ebook/dp/B00I3PRMQO/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1391176292&sr=8-1&keywords=christine+blackthorn

http://www.amazon.ca/My-Choice-Valentines-Story-Stories-ebook/dp/B00I3PRMQO/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1391176737&sr=8-1&keywords=christine+blackthorn

Website/Blog

 www.christineblackthorn.eu

Twitter:

CBlackthorn

This entry was posted in Author Interview, Book Tours and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

