Author Interview with Charlotte Castle

simonschoice

I’m hosting an interview with Charlotte Castle, the author of contemporary drama novel “Simon’s Choice”. Enjoy!

Author Interview

Please tell us about yourself.

My name is Charlotte Castle and I’m a thirty-three year old mother of two. I live in a great big madhouse in the middle of the beautiful Yorkshire countryside with my partner, children, cats and dog. There are some rumours that Santa Claus may be introducing a couple of hamsters to the chaos this year.

Tell us about your book.

Simon’s Choice deals with the emotions a father experiences when dealing with his small daughter’s decline from leukemia – and also the effect this has on his marriage. Despite the subject matter, I’m told it is often very funny. I knew it was extremely important to temper the more serious passages of the book with chapters of light relief. Nobody wants to settle down to a book that is pure gloom.

What inspired you to write Simon’s Choice?

An off the cuff remark made by a friend whilst we were in his van going around a roundabout in Huddersfield. He said “If my daughter was going to die, I’d go with her”. I immediately felt there was a book in that.

How many hours per week do you spend writing?

I wrote Simon’s Choice very quickly when I was pregnant – I wrote daily between 10.30am and 3.30pm. Recently I have been writing less – much to the chagrin of my editor.

If you could meet three authors, which authors would you chose?

Ann Rule – true crime writer. She actually knew the serial killer Ted Bundy and has been in close contact with many of the world’s most famous murderers. I’m fascinated by nature v nurture argument and the inner workings of the sociopath. Finally, (for light relief!) I’d meet David Nobbs, a Yorkshire author who wrote Pratt of the Argos amongst other things. Oh and Evelyn Waugh – fabulous satirist, I wrote an essay comparing Pratt of the Argus to Waugh’s ‘Scoop’ for my A-Level English coursework.

What are you working on at the moment?

Publicity. My novel When I Was a Wife has just been signed off by the editors and hopefully will be released later this month. It deals with the disappearance of a very famous Lord, following the murder of his children’s nanny. There has been mutters of film deals….

 About Simon’s Choice

8600510“But, Daddy? Who will live with me in Heaven?”

 Doctor Simon Bailey has everything a man could ever want. Then his beautiful daughter is diagnosed with Leukemia.

He can almost accept her impending death. He can almost accept the fact that he will have to live without her. But he cannot stand the thought of his little girl having to face death alone.

He answers her innocent question in a moment of desperation, testing his marriage, his professional judgment and his sanity to the limit. As cracks form in Simon’s previously perfect family, we wonder, as do his loved ones … will he really make the ultimate sacrifice?

Combining poignant moments of both humour and pain, ‘Simon’s Choice’ is a penetrating account of parenthood at the sharp-end.

Author Bio

charlieCharlotte Castle lives in the North Yorkshire countryside in a ‘madhouse’ full of children, dogs and cats. Simon’s Choice was her first novel – her second, ‘When I Was a Wife’ is due out in November.

Links

http://charlotte-castle.blogspot.com/
http://kingsofkindle.blogspot.co.uk/

http://www.amazon.com/Simons-Choice-ebook/dp/B003VS0DWI

This entry was posted in Author Interview, Book Tours and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

