Author Interview with J.R. Simmons

ragesongbanner

I’m hosting an interview today with J.R. Simmons, the author of YA fantasy novel “Ragesong: Awakening”. Thank you for answering my questions, J.R.

Author Interview

1) Please tell us about yourself.

My name is J.R. Simmons and I live in Northern Utah with my beautiful wife and 4 boys. I love spending time with my family and coaching my boys in soccer, baseball and basketball. I am an avid gamer and it is awesome to see that my boys are picking up on this particular hobby. I was recently introduced to triathlons by a friend and I have been doing them for three years (they have a special division for…husky guys like me, they call us Clydesdales). Most nights after the kids are in bed, I will either sit down to game for a while or write.

 

2) Tell us about your book.

Though the query letter and description were very difficult to write, I feel that they give an accurate description of my book.

When the peaceful kingdom of Fermicia is enslaved by a power-hungry renegade, its only hope lies in a band of unlikely heroes: two children whose musical abilities allow them to harness the power of Ragesong, and their shape-changing guides.

Jake starts his first day of junior high completely oblivious to the fact that he has been chosen for something incredible. That same afternoon, he learns that he has been marked as one with the power to save an entire kingdom. Through the course of his journey, Jake discovers that his advanced musical abilities are peculiarly connected to a mysterious power known as Ragesong. Joined by a shy, young girl with similar musical talents and two Changelings that hold a fierce loyalty to their homeland and king, Jake must learn to harness this ability in order to survive the dangers of a hostile new world.

 

3) What inspired you to write Ragesong: Awakening?

The idea popped into my head a few years ago and I made a quick sketch about a small part of the book.  Then life happened (or I got sucked into one video game or another) and I forgot about it.  Inspiration came in a lot of things.  I had just tried (and failed) to form an acapella group, and I was sitting between games.  Then I found my old idea and it suddenly took off.  The characters changed, but the idea stayed the same (I brought the characters back into book two with only minor variations).  The characters are inspired by my love of music and gaming.  The book is inspired by my devotion to fantasy.

 

4) How many hours per week do you spend writing?

I wish I could say that there was a fixed time, but it varies so much.  If I had to nail down a range, I would say between 10-15 hours.  It all depends on when the kids are in bed and how much time is left before I have to go to bed.

5) If you could meet three authors, which authors would you choose?

David Eddings – I grew up reading his ‘Belgariad’ and ‘Elenium’ (and consecutive) books and I still find myself enjoying them over and over again.

David G. Whoolley – His research for ‘The Promised Land’ series is fantastic.  They are a wonderful blend of history and fiction and I look forward to reading each one when they come out.

Orson Scott Card – His work on the Ender series was masterful.  I usually don’t read science fiction as much as fantasy, but I ate up those books.  His audiobooks inspired me to have Ragesong: Awakening read by a cast instead of a single reader.

 

6) What are you working on at the moment?

I am nearly done with the second book, which will be called Ragesong: Uprising!  It has been so much fun to open up more of Fermicia.  I don’t want to say much yet, but I will say that Ragesong: Awakening only explored a very small portion of Fermicia. Jake and Sam have grown up a bit and they have a lot more to overcome.  I can’t wait to share it with people!

Ragesong: Awakening

18361383Title: Ragesong: Awakening

Author: J.R. Simmons

Genre: YA Fantasy Adventure

When the peaceful kingdom of Fermicia is enslaved by a power-hungry renegade, its only hope lies in a band of unlikely heroes: two children whose musical abilities allow them to harness the power of Ragesong, and their shape-changing guides.

Jake starts his first day of junior high completely oblivious to the fact that he has been chosen for something incredible. That same afternoon, he learns that he has been marked as one with the power to save an entire kingdom. Through the course of his journey, Jake discovers that his advanced musical abilities are peculiarly connected to a mysterious power known as Ragesong. Joined by a shy, young girl with similar musical talents and two Changelings that hold a fierce loyalty to their homeland and king, Jake must learn to harness this ability in order to survive the dangers of a hostile new world.

Author Bio

JR Simmons lives in Northern Utah with his wife and 4 boys. He loves spending time with his family and coaching his kids in all of their different sports. He is an avid gamer and is very excited that his boys are picking up on his hobby. JR was recently introduced to triathlons and has since found that he loves the sport. Most nights he can be found either sitting down with a good game or hunched over his iPad writing.

Links

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/RagesongBook
Blog: http://jrsimmons3.wordpress.com/
Twitter: twitter.com/jrsimmons_3

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Ragesong-Awakening-The-Series-Book/dp/0988622424/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1379505494&sr=8-1&keywords=ragesong+awakening

B&N: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/ragesong-jr-simmons/1116549014?ean=2940148742289

This entry was posted in Author Interview, Book Tours and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

