Author Interview with George Bernstein

trappedbanner

I’m happy to host an interview today with George Bernstein. George is the author of a romantic suspense novel named “Trapped”. The book sounds like an excellent read. Enjoy the interview!

Author Interview

Please tell us about yourself.

I’m the retired President of a Chicago company, now living in south Florida with Dolores, my wife of 54 years. I’m a serious novelist and have put in the work to further that craft by attending several writers’ conferences and a seminar by top fiction agent, Donald Maass. Those conferences taught me quality fiction writing requires more than just talent.  I learned how to make a good story compelling, and I’m happy at the frequent reviews that complement me on not only a captivating story that was hard to put down, but on the quality of my style in developing characters and scenes. Because of making the effort to develop that skill, Trapped was a contest winner, and received high praise, gaining mostly 5-star reviews at Amazon & Goodreads.

Besides writing fiction, I’m also considered a “World-class” fly-fisherman, having held a dozen IGFA World Records, and have published Toothy Critters Love Flies  (www.pikeflyguy.com), the definitive book on fly-fishing for pike & musky.  

When not writing or fishing, I build fine cabinetry in my 3-car garage, and when forced by Dolores, I punish myself by playing golf. I’ve discovered a synonym for golf is “masochism.”

Tell us about your book

. Trapped is a novel of love, disillusionment, terror, and ultimately, retribution.

   A car accident leaves Jackee Maren paralyzed, able to move only her eyes, a condition called “Locked-in Syndrome.” Her physical therapist, Kevin, teaches her to “talk” by blinking her eyes. Soon she finds she can sense others thoughts, but tells no one but her sons, unsure who she can trust. Then she learns her car accident was no accident, and vows to expose the person who wants her dead. Exercising her psychic skills, she finally learns who masterminded the accident, but feels helpless to stop them from trying to kill her again.

   Fading physically, she embarks on a psychic plan to not only ensure her boys are safe forever, but to exact revenge on her would-be murderer. Jackee vows not to rest until this killer understands what it is to be TRAPPED! But she must hurry, with only months left to live.

Most readers have said they couldn’t put it down, and especially loved the ending.

 

 

What inspired you to write Trapped?

I became a serious writer in 1990, when I was able to “semi-retire” at a pretty young age, my wife, Dolores, said, “You need something to keep busy, and you don’t want to play golf every day. You always loved to write. Why don’t you write a novel?”

So, I was beginning the journey as a novelist. Dolores and I began brainstorming for a subject, and she thought of a neighbor, when we lived in north suburban Chicago, who became comatose after an anesthetic accident during plastic surgery. I took her condition, but imagined that, while trapped in a dead shell of a body, her mind was still active, and I gave her the ability to use her eyes. And TRAPPED became the obvious title. I only learned many years later that “Locked-in Syndrome” is a real condition.

 

How many hours per week do you spend writing?

When I’m into a novel, I usually write even day for a few hours, at least. I prefer writing in the morning, after breakfast. That’s when I seem to be most creative. When I’m in a “zone,” I’ll often write past lunch-time, without stopping. I’ll keep going until I’m too hungry to think.

I use the afternoons for editing and story review, and follow-up on any other projects I may have underway at the time. Then I need some time with my wife and the rest of the family.

If you could meet three authors, which would you choose?

Well, I’ve already met Joy Fielding, who was helpful and supportive during my failed search for an agent. I really like the work of Dean Koontz when he writes straight (not uber-paranormal) stories, like “The Husband” and “The Good Guy.” And probably Stephen King, because he’s so prolific, with a great imagination. Some of his work is pretty far out for me, but things like “11/22/63” are really great work.

What are you working on at the moment?

I’ve already written four novels. My second published novel, A Third Time to Die, is a story of passion, brutal death (twice!), rebirth (twice), and struggling to survive, finally, in the 21st Century. I’m working on promoting that right now, too. It’s already garnered many 5 and 4-Star reviews on Amazon.

In between doing promotion for Trapped and A 3rd Time to Die, I’ve begun work on preparing my two Al Warner detective series novels (think Patterson’s Alex Cross) over the next year, and possibly will begin writing two others in that series that I’ve outlined and begun.

Trapped

TRAPPED reduced cover 3Title: Trapped

Author: George A. Bernstein

Genre: Romantic Suspense

The darkness is still, silent. Jackee Maren’s heart pounds reverberating through her body as fear sears her veins. Someone’s coming. No way out. This time they will kill me. Her breath is short, her chest burns. Must run. Faster. Faster! Her eyes fly open, her heart still racing with blinding fear. Jackee breathes deeply with relief and stares at the ceiling desperately trying to calm herself. The same dream. Something, someone is watching… and waiting.

A tragic car accident leaves beautiful, vibrant Jackee Maren completely paralyzed, mentally alert but trapped in “Locked-in Syndrome,” able to move only her eyes. Jackee’s husband, Phil, is devastated and her two young boys left with nothing but a shell for a mother, but still, Jackee senses the foreboding of an evil presence and knows time is short.

Slowly, Jackee learns to communicate with her physical therapist, Kevin, by blinking her eyes. As evidence comes to light that her car accident was no accident, Jackee knows she must expose the person who wants her dead before they get a second chance.

While Jackee works her mind to put all the clues together, she discovers she has the ability to sense the thoughts of others, but she hides this talent from everyone but her sons, not knowing whom she can trust. By actively exercising her new psychic ability, Jackee finally learns who masterminded the accident but seems helpless to stop them from trying to kill her again.

Slowly a psychic plan forms to not only ensure her boys are safe forever, but to exact revenge on her would-be murderer. Jackee vows not to rest until this would-be-killer understands what it is to be TRAPPED! But she must hurry, with only a year to live.

Author Bio

GeorgeGeorge Bernstein is a youthful seventy-seven-year-old, with a B.A. from Northwestern University, now living in south Florida with Dolores, his wife of 54 years. He is the retired president of a publicly held Chicago company.
George’s main interest now is as a serious novelist. He has attended numerous writers’ conferences and seminars, including that of famous fiction agent, Donald Maass, and he has worked with independent editor, Dave King, all with the goal of improving his craft.
George’s first novel, Trapped, is published by TAG Publishers, after being a finalist in their Next Great American Novel contest. Dee Burks and her staff really love the story, and have put a lot of effort into comprehensive editing and revision suggestions, making Trapped the best it can be. Trapped was also a finalist at the 2012 Florida Writers Association RPLA fiction contest, and has since acquired over seventy 4 & 5-Star reviews on Amazon and Goodreads.

George has also recently released his 2nd novel, A 3rd Time to Die, which has been received with several 4 & 5-Star reviews. The most common comment for both novels is: “I couldn’t put it down.”

Links

http://suspenseguy.com

http://amzn.to/P2xxaT

YouTube   http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bWHMGC-QHK8

http://facebook.com/georgeabernstein

Http://twitter.com/georgebernstein

http://georgeabernstein.wordpress.com

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/s/Trapped–by-George-A-Bernstein?keyword=Trapped%2C+by+George+A+Bernstein&store=book

http://www.booksamillion.com/p/Trapped/George-A-Bernstein/9781599304090?id=5771085317565

This entry was posted in Author Interview, Book Tours and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

