Author Interview with Shyla Colt

castthecards

I’m hosting an interview today with Shyla Colt, the author of romantic suspense novel “Cast The Cards”. Thank you for answering my questions, Shyla!

1) Please tell us about yourself.

 I’m a stay at home mom in her early thirties who decided to truly go for my dream and never looked back. I’ve held a bevy of different careers, flight attendant, Dj, and office manager. But I knew in the end I wanted to be a stay at home mom and full time writer. I was blessed enough to get a chance at it, but I had no idea what an adventure it’d be. I’ve always loved a good story, but romance, and horror have been my two main loves. I think that’s why I gravitated toward paranormal romances. I blame my father who raised me on the classic black and whites like Wuthering Heights, and a Nightmare on Elm Street.

   
2) Tell us about your book.


3) What inspired you to write Cast The Cards?

The concept of a woman who escaped her kidnapper, but lost her best friend in the process came to me, and the rest of the story developed from there.  I’d been watching a lot of Bones episodes and  one truly struck a chord and made me think. This combined with the concept above melded and formed Cast the Cards.


4) How many hours per week do you spend writing?

It varies, but I can say well over fifteen. It’s usually in intervals, thirty minutes here, twenty there, two hours (at nap time).
5) If you could meet three authors, which authors would you choose?

1. Laurel K. Hamilton because she helped me believe in myself when I needed it most, and I’ve always wanted to tell her that in person.

2. Stephen King, because he’s an phenomenal writer, and human being.

3. This one is a lot harder…. It would be a writer whose all ready passed on, but choosing which … It might come down to names in a hat written on paper, whichever I pulled out would be the lucky winner.


6) What are you working on at the moment?

Right now I’m working on a short story, a sort of Christmas with a  bit of Supernatural flair.

About Cast The Cards

cast ebookSavannah escaped a kidnapping but her best friend Clark—the man she secretly loved—didn’t. Guilt-ridden and changed after the event, she gives up her dream of teaching and earns a position in the F.B.I as a profiler. When she’s targeted by the very same kidnappers wishing to finish the job, she is armed with her skills, backed by her first love’s twin brother, and forced to revisit her demons when Clark’s ghost appears.

 After his twin’s murder, Officer Carey Carr loses more than his brother. Savannah avoids him for a decade. Her return—and her steaming-hot body—stir brand new feelings in Carey. But Clark’s reappearance has Carey battling to control his primal desires around the woman his twin loved.

 As Savannah and Carey, with Clark’s help, embark on a cruel game of cat and mouse with the kidnappers, the twins come to an understanding that involves Savannah and more pleasure than the three of them have ever dreamed.

Author Bio

Shyla ColtTold once ‘You have to be an author, then you’re craziness becomes eccentrics’, Shyla Colt has always been in love with the written word and possessed a desire to write. Named after Super Girl in the comics, she often mistakes her mortality for super hero status. So, she holds many hats, Mother, Marine Wife, and writer are her top three.  Writing allows her to explore new venues, face her demons, and touch others. A huge practitioner of paying it forward, and putting in what you want to get out, she hopes to inspire, enlighten, move, and entertain you with her work. Mixing humor, drama, and strong women, often with a paranormal element, she continues to soldier ahead in the writing field. One of her favorite things is talking to fans.  If you’d like to learn more or just drop a line, please check her out at http://www.shylacolt.com.

This entry was posted in Author Interview, Book Tours and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

