Author Interview Annette Gisby

chosenbanner

I’m hosting an interview with Annette Gisby, author of “The Chosen”, a M/M fantasy romance. Thanks for answering my questions, Annette.

Author Interview

1) Please tell us about yourself.

I grew up in a very small town which had no bookshops and a small library. After I’d gone through everything the library had to offer, I started writing down my own stories so I would always have something to read later. Even before I wrote anything, when I was younger I played with dolls, but even then I used them for storytelling – they were the actors in the plays I had in my head.

I love books, I love reading. We were at dinner with someone once who said that they didn’t read, that they couldn’t imagine it being any fun. I was the complete opposite, I really didn’t understand anyone who didn’t like reading. A few years ago I had impetigo on my face and my left eye was swollen shut for a few months, it was terrible not being able to read like I used to. That was when I discovered the text-to-speech function on my Kindle, it was a lifesaver. I still much prefer reading myself though.

I live in Hampshire in England with my husband John, and this year will be our 22nd wedding anniversary.

2) Tell us about your book in five sentences or less.

Prince Severin has been brought up to put duty before everything; Havyn has been a slave all his life until he’s freed by Severin and Ildar, Severin’s royal wizard. Havyn is taken on as a wizarding apprentice, the two fall in love despite Severin having to marry a princess. The princess disappears and they embark on a quest to find her. The book has forbidden love, a quest, royal intrigue, magic and adventure all rolled into one.

3) What inspired you to write The Chosen?

I’d always loved fantasy and fairy tales and I wanted to write something that combined both of those. The trouble was, every fantasy book I’d ever read were mighty tomes filled with lots of description. I was never a very descriptive writer, there was just enough to set the scene and action, but things were quite fast moving. The Chosen must be one of the shortest fantasy books ever 🙂 I wrote it as a fairy tale for adults.

4) How many hours per week do you spend writing?

Two to three hours a day on writing new stuff and then another two or three promoting or editing or searching out cover designers and updating my two blogs. So about 35-40 hours a week probably, sometimes more.

5) If you could meet three authors, which authors would you choose?

 Only three? Hmm, I think I would love to meet JK Rowling, I love the Harry Potter series. Not sure what I would say though, I’m very shy and get tongue-tied very quickly. I’d also love to meet two of my favourite fantasy authors, Carol Berg and Lynn Flewelling. I discovered one of Lynn’s books at our local library and once I’d read it, I had to buy it and the rest of the series. After I bought Lynn’s books, I was recommended Carol Berg as “people who bought this also this” – I’ve bought every book by her and Carol Berg since 🙂

6) What are you working on at the moment?

Not sure which of these I’ll get finished first, but one is a male/male romance set at a boarding school where there is a murder and everyone is a suspect. The other one is also a male/male romance about a baker who hasn’t had much time for romance as he’s been trying to build up his bakery business and his livelihood is threatened when a mega-superstore opens outside of town. His romantic prospects are looking up though when a championship swimmer comes to the baker’s shop one day looking for a birthday cake for his brother.

About The Chosen

chosen_promoTitle: The Chosen

Author: Annette Gisby

Genre: M/M fantasy romance

The neighbouring kingdoms of Oscia and Arcathia have been at a tentative peace for three years after centuries of warfare. Prince Severin of Arcathia has been brought up to put duty before all else and as the only son of the King and Queen, it is his duty to marry and produce an heir. His parents want him to marry an Oscian princess to cement that tentative peace. Unfortunately Severin isn’t interested in princesses. Now, if he had his pick of princes that would be another matter.

Havyn has been a slave all his life. When his aptitude for wizardry is discovered, he finds himself purchased and freed by Prince Severin and apprenticed to the royal wizard, Ildar. His duty is to stay chaste to keep his powers strong, but his feelings for Severin sorely test his resolve.

With kingdoms at war, the throne hanging in the balance, magic in the air, and outside forces trying to keep them apart, can the two men find happiness together, or is duty more important than love?

Author Bio

author1Annette Gisby grew up in a small town in Northern Ireland, moving to London when she was seventeen. Being a very small town there were no bookshops and a small library. When she’d devoured every book she could get her hands on in the library, she started writing her own stories so she would always have something to read later.

When not writing she enjoys reading, cinema, theatre, walks along deserted beaches or wandering around ruined castles (great places for inspiration!) New Zealand is her favourite place and she hopes to travel back there one day. She’s a fan of Japanese Manga and Anime and one day hopes to learn Japanese.

She currently lives in Hampshire with her husband, a collection of porcelain dolls and stuffed penguins and enough books to fill a small library. It’s diminishing gradually since the discovery of ebooks but still has a long way to go.

http://www.annettegisby.n3.net

https://twitter.com/havyn

http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/252221.Annette_Gisby

http://glbt.theromancereviews.com/mypageprofile.php?location=annettegisby

Links

http://www.amazon.com/The-Chosen-ebook/dp/B00DFKVJ5C/

http://www.amazon.co.uk/The-Chosen-ebook/dp/B00DFKVJ5C/

https://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-thechosen-1222707-143.html

http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/326842

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Author Interview Annette Gisby

  1. Thanks for hosting me on my blog tour 🙂

Leave a Reply

