Author Interview with Anastasia V. Pergakis

Tour_Button2

Anastasia V. Pergakis is a fantasy romance author. Her debut novel is Cleanse Fire, a military fantasy novel with a bit of romance on the side. She was kind enough to answer my interview questions, and I’m glad to feature her on my blog.

There’s also a grand prize giveaway during the tour. You can find more about that below the interview!

1) Please tell us about yourself.

I’m a stay at home mom to an adorable, hyper almost-5 year old son. He sure makes things interesting to say the least! My husband is a big support to me and I couldn’t ask for a better man.

I format books and design websites for authors. I started the business myself a few years ago and I just love working with all the authors I meet. They are all a joy to work with. I love what I do!

I’ve been writing my entire live it seems. I started with poetry, the moved onto short stories and finally to novels. I’ve always been a fan of fantasy and science fiction, so it was easy for me to find where my writing style fit the best. I enjoy writing so much and can’t myself doing anything else.

It sure gets a bit crazy in my house – and some days I just simply can’t get to the dishes – but it’s a great life and I love it.

2) Tell us about your book in five sentences or less.

Captain Derac Vidor dedicated his life to Kinir. And then his Commander betrays everything he loves. Fueled by rage, the Kinir Elite chase the source to their Commander’s betrayal–a powerful wizard bent on revenge. Derac’s tragic past may be the key to saving the team. Can he face the nighmare in time?

3) Where did you get the inspiration from for “Cleanse Fire”?

My Dad served in the U.S. Army for twenty years. As a writer, I had the urge to write a story about him, telling the world about his dedication to his country. There are so many soldiers out there that go somewhat “nameless” and no one knows about them and I thought by honoring my Dad and telling his story, then I could also honor other soldiers who made the same sacrifice. When I began writing the book however, I realized I could never do justice to him, or any soldier for that matter.

So, I resorted to my passion – fantasy. Now, while the series as it exists now is completely fictional, the characters and story line are in dedication to my Dad and all soldiers who have served, are serving, and will serve in the military. It is my hope that, even though in fantasy form, the story of a soldier’s sacrifice and dedication to their country still shines through.

4) If you could have a meeting with three authors, which ones would you choose?

Oh that’s a tough one. I suppose one would expect to say something like J.R.R. Tolkien or other fantasy greats, but the truth is, there are plenty of authors that I’d love to meet in person as I interact with on a daily basis online that are indies or just starting out. I love their books and will read anything that they publish. So, I guess my three would have to be J.D. Brown (author of Dark Heirloom), Charlene A. Wilson (author of Cornerstone Deep), and Rhiannon Douglas (author of Running) – these three because they’ve helped me tremendously with my own books, they are my dearest friends – yet I’ve never met them in person.

5) How many hours per week do you spend writing?

Well, that’s hard to say. It varies from week to week really. As I said before, I’m a stay at home mom and I run my own business, so some weeks I can get upwards of 24+ hours while other weeks I get 0. I usually dedicate my weekends to writing or at least “my books”. During the week it’s all work, other authors’ books, websites, little man’s school, laundry, dishes, etc. But the weekends I’m free to dive into my fantasy worlds and have fun!

6) Tell us about your current work in progress.

I am working on two things actually!

“Blood Trade”, the second book in the Kinir Elite Chronicles, is nearly half finished with the rough draft. It’s going to be longer than “Cleanse Fire”, with more fight scenes, another little romance on the side, and a full on war! Derac is still the leading ‘man’ of the story, but we do dive deeper into the rest of the team as well in this one. But not telling exactly who yet!

The other project I’m working on is called “Burden of Prophecy”. It’s the first book in the “A Faery’s Tale” Series. It’s heavy on the romantic theme with the hero and heroine having a special love connection and their magical connection is the key to fulfilling a prophecy. But! they are supposed to be enemies! So they defy the odds and their parents and their entire world really to be together and it causes a major revolution in their kingdom.

Good luck with Blood Trade and Burden of Prophecy!

About Cleanse Fire

CFEbookCoverTitle: Cleanse Fire

Author:  Anastasia V. Pergakis

Genre: Military Fantasy

Complete the mission, no matter what…

Captain Derac Vidor has served Kinir for nearly twenty years. It’s his life, his blood. And then his Commander betrays everything Derac holds dear. Now he has to focus on his own life and his team instead of saving the citizens of Kinir.

Treason is only the beginning…

Fueled by rage, the team chases the source to their Commander’s betrayal – a powerful wizard bent on revenge. The wizard seeks to destroy the Kinir Elite, in both mind and body. No place is safe, even among their allies.

The past holds the key…

Derac’s tragic past may be the key to saving the team. But can he face the gruesome nightmare in time?

Giveaway

Enter to win one of two huge prize packs! Signed paperback copy of “Cleanse Fire”, autographed posters of the team, signed bookmarks and more! Learn more how you can enter here: http://kinirelite.com/cleanse-fire-tour-2013. (Open internationally)

Author Bio

Anastasia knew she always wanted to write. She began at a young age, writing those little stories about the apple tree in the yard. Though her love of stories stayed with her through her poetry stage in high school, she didn’t begin writing novels until she was almost an adult. That’s where she found her true passion.

Her characters visit her dreams – and sometimes during the day – to share their stories with her. Anastasia is merely the writer, but the characters are really the storytellers.

Anastasia lives in Columbus, Georgia with her husband, son, and two black labs. She loves designing books and websites during the day, then writing furiously at night.

Facebook, Kinir Elite Page: http://www.facebook.com/TheKinirElite

Kinir Elite Website: http://kinirelite.com

Facebook, Author Page: http://www.facebook.com/AuthorAVPergakis

Author Website: http://avpergakis.com

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/AVPergakis

Author Page on Amazon (US) http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B005UUVY5A

 

This entry was posted in Author Interview, Book Tours and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Author Interview with Anastasia V. Pergakis

  1. Thanks so much for hosting me today! I had fun answering your questions and thanks for the luck! I’ll be around to answer/reply to any comments the next few days!

Leave a Reply

