Author Interview with A.F. Firebird

TRGbanner

I’m hosting an interview with author A.F. Firebird today. A.F. Firebird is the author of metaphysical fiction novel “The Reluctant Goddess”. Thanks for answering my questions, A.F.!

1) What is ‘metaphysical fiction’ and why did you decide to write in this genre?

Metaphysical fiction is defined on awesome Indies website as:

“Metaphysical fiction is a growing, but little-known, genre of stories about the inner, incorporeal, supernatural, spiritual or transcendent aspects of human experience that emphasise an individuals movement towards self-actualisation, and/or some form of philosophy. Readers may gain insight into, or be stimulated to reflect on, such things as the nature of existence, the mind, the soul, the psyche, psychology, the spiritual journey and so on.”

http://awesomeindies.net/metaphysical-fiction/

I started writing The Reluctant Goddess twelve years ago when there was no such thing as metaphysical fiction. The story just turned up in my head so I started to write it down, not because I was a writer, journalist or English major but because I felt compelled to write it.

Over the next 12 years, while I made a living, got married and had children, I kept writing and re-writing. Along the way, I learnt how to write. Not just the mechanics of telling stories but the nuts and bolts of it.

At the start I had no idea about genre or markets, but when I decided to publish it I discovered that while I was busy learning to write and finishing the book, a new genre had emerged that fit the type of book I had written perfectly!

2) Tell us about yourself.

Over the years I have had many titles and labels. I have been a psychology/sociology student, human resources professional, recruiter, hypnotherapist, programmer, and writer. I am a wife and mother, a daughter and a sister. All of these roles have taught me many things and brought me a great deal of joy and success. However, now I have decided to re-define myself not in terms of of these “doing” labels but in terms of a set of values or virtues that I choose to manifest in the world. A new set of “being”labels you could say. These virtues I feel reflect who I am and my purpose in the world. The virtues are appreciation, compassion, forgiveness, humility, understanding and courage. Everyday, I attempt to bring these virtues to life with the things I do, say and think. Some days are better than others!

3) Tell us about your book in five sentences or less.

The Reluctant Goddess is a book about the challenges of becoming who we really are.

4) What was the inspiration for your book?

The book just turned up in my head. I had never written even a short story before but there it was just knocking around in my head so I started to write it down. In the beginning it was like writing and reading at the same time I didn’t really know what was going to come out on the paper. Once the first draft was done I started the hard work of learning how to write.

5) What was the most challenging part about writing The Reluctant Goddess?

Adding conflict, which moved the story along, was tricky. The whole story is set in a benevolent universe so the classic conflicts of good and evil do not apply.

It’s not easy to imagine a world where there is no such thing as bad news, only news. But if we cannot at least write stories that explore that idea how are we ever going to live in that world?

6) If you could meet three authors (dead or alive) which authors would you like to meet?

Terry Pratchett, Scott Lynch, and Maggie O’Farrell

7) Can you tell us about your current work in progress?

The follow up to The Reluctant Goddess focuses on a being that comes to earth from a distant galaxy to help continue the work Ellena has started. Like Ellena he is a deeply compassionate, but also has experience dismantling ideas or traditions on planets where those ideas are holding back evolution. Gordon, the main character, is a courageous soul whose job it is to get people to let go of ideas that they hold dear. He is not very popular as you can imagine but it’s his job and someone has to do it.

About The Reluctant Goddess

ebook-template-trg3v3The Reluctant Goddess
by A.F. Firebird

Published by: Pose Ltd
Date: 4th July 2012

Kindle Edition : ASIN: B007QMHPYE £1.54
Paperback Edition : ISBN-13: 978-0957313804 £7.99

Media kit and high resolution images can be found online:
http://www.posegroup.org/books/trg/media-kit/index.html

Where to buy:
paperback or kindle: http://www.posegroup.org/books/trg/buy/index.html#buy

paperback or kindle:
http://www.amazon.com
http://www.amazon.co.uk

Also available on itunes
Other ebook formats upon request here:

http://www.posegroup.org/books/trg/forms/contact.html

Ellena Ripley is a bookshop owner from a rural town in the south of England – or so she thinks. But lately, she has a growing sense that life is not as it seems. At night, she dreams of a serene man who appears to be trying to tell her something; In the day, she can’t shake a feeling of expectation. But of what?

Meanwhile Hector, servant of LIFE and the man from Ellena’s dreams, has a dilemma. How do you tell someone they are a goddess? His previous attempts have met with disaster so he must be cautious, particularly when his new trainee, Boudica, formerly Queen of the Iceni tries to help. The question is can they succeed before it is too late?

This entry was posted in Author Interview and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

