Author Interview with B.R. Kingsolver for Succubus Rising Tour

succubusbanner

I’m happy to introduce you all to B.R. Kingsolver, my guest for the day. B.R. is the author of the paranormal romance series “Telepathic Clan”, and is now touring with the latest novel in aforementioned series, “Succubus Rising”.

My questions are in bold. Enjoy the interview!

1)      Please tell us about yourself.

I made silver and turquoise jewelry for almost a decade, ended up in nursing school, then took a master’s in business. Along the way I worked in construction, as a newspaper editor, a teacher, and somehow found a career working with computers.

As to my other interests, I love the outdoors, especially the Rocky Mountains. I’ve skied since high school, with one broken leg and one torn ACL to show for it. I’ve hiked and camped all my life. I love to travel, though I haven’t done enough of it. I’ve seen a lot of Russia and Mexico, not enough of England. Amsterdam is amazing, and the Romanian Alps are breathtaking. Lake Tahoe is a favorite, and someday I’d like to see Banff.

I have a very significant other, two cats and two Basset Hounds. I’m currently living in Baltimore, nine blocks from the harbor, but still own a home in New Mexico that I see too infrequently.

 

2)      Tell us about your book in five sentences or less.

The Telepathic Clans are the people who in legend were called the Sidhe, the faery people. Brenna O’Donnell and Rebecca Healy are wilders, growing up apart from the clans and not knowing why they were so different from other people. In Succubus Rising, the third book in the series, Brenna has started working as a lobbyist in Washington, where she meets a telepathic South American general whose clan wants an alliance with the O’Donnell Clan. But other clans want to stop this and it leads to war.

 

3)      Where did you get the inspiration for Succubus Rising from?

Succubus Rising is the third book in the series.  I’ve always thought the idea of telepathy was the neatest thing I could imagine. So when I started thinking about what kind of character could be strong, kick-ass, and blatantly sexual while still being one of the good guys, I thought about the idea of a telepath who could drain a man’s life energy, but wasn’t aligned with the devil, and didn’t do him permanent harm.

From there the idea started to grow. I envisioned a matriarchal society, worshipping a Goddess, with Telepathic Gifts where the women are as strong as the men — a society of equals. And in an equal society, women and men are free to express their sexual identities.

 

4)      If you could meet three authors (dead or alive), which ones would you like to meet?

Robert Heinlein had an enormous effect on developing my view of the world. I started reading science fiction in seventh grade, and when I was in high school and read Stranger in a Strange Land. John Steinbeck, who took me into parts of life that were so different than the world I grew up in. Tortilla Flat, Cannery Row, In Dubious Battle showed me people and an existence that was so foreign to the middle class suburb where I lived.

 

5)      Can you tell us more about your current work in progress?

I’m writing a paranormal mystery/thriller set in the same world as the succubus books. The main character is a private investigator in London. It’s written in first person, whereas my other books are written in third, and it doesn’t have the romance and sex of the other books. I’m about a third of the way through the first draft, and hope to have it done this summer.

After that, I have a book outlined that is a more traditional YA/NA paranormal romance. The main character is a 19 year old Valkyrie going to Oxford University. Her friends are elves, dwarfs, dryads, fairies, dragons, etc.

About Succubus Rising

cover600Title: Succubus Rising

Author: B.R. Kingsolver

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Book 3 of the Telepathic Clans Saga, Succubus Rising

The Goddess has plans for Brenna and Rebecca, and the Goddess has a wicked sense of humor.

Rebecca Healy is a true wilder, growing up with no contact or knowledge of other telepaths. Discovered by a Clan member on the streets of San Francisco, she felt like she’d hit the jackpot. Finally, she knew what she was, or at least she thought she did.

When Brenna O’Donnell, long-lost heir of the O’Donnell Clan, and the strongest telepath in history, is returned to her family, she and Rebecca form a tight bond. Brenna has it all, looks, money, power, and men falling all over her.

Rebecca isn’t jealous, but it would be nice to find someone who would really love her and stick around in the morning. She’s intrigued by a handsome South American general, but of course, he has his sights set on Brenna. Carlos de Vargas wants more than love. His Clan has its back to the wall, and they hope for an alliance with O’Donnell. An alliance that would lead to war.

The story began in The Succubus Gift and continued in Succubus Unleashed. In Succubus Rising, questions are answered and new mysteries are revealed.

Author Bio

BRK AvatarI made silver and turquoise jewelry for almost a decade, ended up in nursing school, then took a master’s in business. Along the way I worked in construction, as a newspaper editor, a teacher, and somehow found a career working with computers.

I love the outdoors, especially the Rocky Mountains. I’ve skied since high school and I’ve hiked and camped all my life. I love to travel, though I haven’t done enough of it. I’ve seen a lot of Russia and Mexico, not enough of England. Amsterdam is amazing, and the Romanian Alps are breathtaking. Lake Tahoe is a favorite, and someday I’d like to see Banff in Canada.

I have a very significant other, two cats and two Basset Hounds. I’m currently living in Baltimore, nine blocks from the harbor, but still own a home in New Mexico that I see too infrequently.

Links

Twitter: @BRKINGSOLVER

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/brkingsolver

Web site: http://brkingsolver.com/

Purchase: B&N and Amazon

This entry was posted in Author Interview and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

