Author Interview with Sally Dubats

wintershock

I’m interviewing author Sally Dubats today. Sally is the author of fantasy novel “Winter Shock”. Thanks for replying to my questions, Sally!

Can you tell us a little about yourself?

Hi Cassidy! Thanks so much for having me as a guest on your website! Anyone can find out the usual stuff about me on my website… I’m an author… I love writing… I love fantasy. Aside from that, I’m also a yoga instructor and I read Tarot cards. I love yoga because I feel it’s a really great way to get in touch with yourself and your body. I gave yoga as a practice to my character, Cassie, because she goes through so much, I needed a way to have her stay balanced in a very real way, and it’s coming in handy for her. It *certainly* comes in handy for me!

Can you tell us about your book?

“Winter Shock” is very special to me. It’s the second book in “The Grimoire Chronicles” series, and quite a departure from the first book. “Veil Between Worlds” is the first book. “Winter Shock” really takes us on an adventure and tells us more about where the whole series is headed (there will be 8 books total). Cassie is Wiccan, but she’s not supernatural. Trenton is her hunky supernatural boyfriend. “Winter Shock” takes place during Yule, the Wiccan celebration of Winter Solstice, and Trenton starts to act very strange: nice one minute, scary the next. I did this based on the Oak and Holly King lore of Celtic traditions. Trenton drugs and kidnaps Cassie, and they end up on an adventure, a quest, in a frozen world with Cassie scared for her life. I’ve been getting such fantastic feedback about it, and I really appreciate that!

What was the inspiration for Winter Shock?

The whole series is based on my idea that we need to see super strong female protagonists in fiction. Then I thought, ‘How would a heroine who is Wiccan, and in touch with things like divination, ritual, and magick (spelled with a “k” to differentiate between “slight of hand magic” and “natural magick” that draws things to us or heals) deal with a supernatural being?” The story really took off from there, and I based it around the 8 Wiccan holidays or Sabbats. Each Sabbat has its own flavor. Samhain is the first book, also known as Halloween, and we deal with death and dying, hence “Veil Between Worlds”. Yule is the second book, and is based on the shadow self, the parts of us we don’t like to see or show, and that’s what the Oak and Holly King are about, and that’s what Trenton struggles with, so we don’t really know if he’s good or bad 😉 Some guys do very wrong things in the name of love.

 What was the most challenging part about writing the book?

Well, there were two things. I love hiking, camping, snow shoeing in altitude, and have hiked to the peaks of mountains (highest was 13,000 feet), but haven’t hiked up 14,000 feet in the winter! I did a lot of research and interviewed experts to fill out the adventure to make it authentic. The other part that was challenging was going really deep to find the darker aspects of human nature. I think that’s hard for any author (or actor, painter, or dancer) to deal with! You have to go there to make it authentic, and then put it on the page. There is darkness in “Winter Shock,” even in Cassie. But that’s what makes good drama!

Do you have any advice for aspiring authors?

Don’t put it off! You’ve heard of right now? I say write now! Don’t let anything get in the way. Find time to be with friends and family and let loose because it’s super important, but if you’ve planned some time to write, don’t let anything get in the way of those dates with yourself!

 If you could meet three authors (dead or alive), which authors would you choose?

Stephen King, Ernest Hemingway, J.K. Rowling. Preferably all at the same time at a nice dinner with good food and wine (except Stephen King doesn’t drink anymore, so maybe he would be separate.)

 Can you tell us about your current work in progress?

I’m working on a light paranormal comedy which I find hysterically funny but it has heart, and I’m taking a big risk publishing it, so I hope my readers like it! It will be out at the end of the month. Then it’s on to book 3 of “The Grimoire Chronicles”! Thank you so much for having me! Love your website, and keep up the great work!!!

Thanks, Sally!

About Winter Shock

16277774Title: Winter Shock

Author: Sally Dubats

Genre:  Paranormal Fantasy

“Trenton drugged and kidnapped me. I was powerless.”

Cassie’s neighbors have secrets, and she is one of them.

A Witch taken against her will to an isolated, frozen wilderness on an impossible quest, Cassie defends herself against Trenton who has gone over to the dark side. One minute he’s adorable and charming, and the next weird, uncaring, and hostile. And now, Cassie fears for her life.

Winter Solstice draws near, and Cassie performs magical spells to gain clarity. Instead she is shocked by visions and mind jumps into the lives of strangers on the brink of disaster.

Why is she in a hostile, threatening wilderness? What is causing the horrific visions? Cassie discovers there is much more at stake than her own survival. To survive, she must overcome impossible odds.

Book two in “The Grimoire Chronicles” series, “Winter Shock” is a paranormal fantasy novel that you’ll never forget! If you love paranormal romance, urban fantasy, Witches and Wicca, paranormal mystery, paranormal horror, action and survival, “The Grimoire Chronicles” series is definitely for you!

Author Bio

Sally 3Sally Dubats is a published author of a non-fiction compendium on the practice of witchcraft called Natural Magick: The Essential Witch’s Grimoire. Her current project is an 8-book fantasy series, The Grimoire Chronicles. The first two books are complete, and Veil Between Worlds and Winter Shock have received critical acclaim. She has held editorial positions for green non-profit organizations, and was the editor of a metaphysical newspaper for several years. Sally is Wiccan and continues to practice and research the Craft.

http://www.sallydubats.com

Twitter: @sallydubats

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/sally.dubats

Facebook Author Page: https://www.facebook.com/SallyDubats.Author

Amazon link: http://www.amazon.com/Winter-Shock-Grimoire-Chronicles-ebook/dp/B00AJF8LSE/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1357186234&sr=8-1&keywords=winter+shock

This entry was posted in Author Interview and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

