Author Interview with Olivia Hardin

shiftybanner

We’re hosting an interview today with paranormal romance / urban fantasy author Olivia Hardin.

The Interview

1) Tell us more about yourself. 

Well I’m a “thirty-something” Texas girl who has always wanted to be a writer.  I toyed with majors in Computer Technology, English, History and Geology until one day I heard the term “road scholar.” From that moment I pretty much knew that was what I wanted to be.  I enjoy studying anything and everything just for the joy of learning.
2) When did you start your writing career? 

I’ve been writing since I was probably about 15, but as a career I published my first book November 2011.  It’s been an exciting adventure – I hope it goes on and on and on.
3) What is the inspiration behind the Bend-Bite-Shift Series? 

Book one started with a crazy dream I had about a girl who helps a group of killers murder her family.  I wrote bits and pieces of that dream down many years ago and when I decided to try my hand at writing and publishing, I picked up those snippets and turned them into Witch Way Bends.  From there the characters took over.  They all started holding up their hands and insisting I tell their stories!
4) Can you tell us more about Shifty Business in five sentences or less?

He’s a tough dhampir and only one woman has ever gotten to his soft side.  She’s a hard shapeshifting witch who’s just a tad insecure.  Their marriage is a secret to the rest of the world, but it’s the secrets in Gerry’s closet that could tear them apart.
5) Name your three all time favorite novels.

Gary Jennings, author of Aztec; Karleen Koen, author of Through a Glass Darkly and Robert Heinlein, author of Glory Road.  I know, I have eclectic tastes.
6) Can you tell us about your current works in progress?

I’m so glad you asked!  I have at least three projects planned for this year.  Right now I’m finishing up work on a contemporary romance called All for Hope to be published through Hayson Publishing.  After that I plan to put out the second book in my MAUCs Series, Tangled Up In Trouble.  Then, by the end of this year I intend to put out the first book in the For Love of Fae Trilogy, Sweet Magic Song.

About Shifty Business

BookCoverPreviewTitle: Shifty Business (Bend-Bite-Shift #3)

Author: Olivia Hardin

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Gerry Hinton thought she had the perfect career as an operative for the Company. Her next assignment should have been another “mission accomplished”, but hell was delivering hand baskets that day.

When a little girl gives a mysterious silver box to Gerry, her world self-destructs. Suddenly under constant mental attacks, the only person who can save her is her partner, Nicky–but nothing comes without a cost. Secrets buried deep in the past begin to rise, threatening everything she holds dear.

If she can’t out run her past, can she save her future?

Author Bio

azaleapicWhen Olivia Hardin began having strange movie-like dreams in her teens, she had no choice but to begin putting them to paper.  Before long the writing bug had her and she knew she wanted to be a published author.  Several rejections plus a little bit of life later, and she was temporarily “cured” of the urge to write.  That is until she met a group of talented and fabulous writers who gave her the direction and encouragement she needed to get lost in the words again.

Olivia’s attended three different universities over the years.  She toyed with majors in Computer Technology, English, History and Geology until one day she heard the term road scholar and she knew that was what she wanted to be.  Now she “studies” anything and everything just for the joy of learning.   She’s also an insatiable crafter who only completes about 1 out of 5 projects, a jogger who hates to run, and she’s sometimes accused of being artistic.

A native Texas girl, Olivia lives in the beautiful Lone Star state with her husband, Danny and their puppy, Bonnie.

This entry was posted in Author Interview, Book Tours and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Author Interview with Olivia Hardin

  1. Thanks for the fabulous interview today.

    Happy reading, everyone!

    ~Olivia

Leave a Reply

