Author Interview with E.B. Black

medusabanner

I’m hosting an interview today with E.B. Black, the author of fantasy romance novel Medusa’s Desire. I’m glad E.B. Black was able to answer some of my questions.

1) Hey E.B., and thanks for letting me host this interview! Can you tell us more about yourself?

Thanks for having me on your blog.

I’m a nerdy girl who is in love with both fantasy and romance. My dogs keep me company while I write and my kindle entertains me for hours on end.

2) When did you start your writing career?

It was a gradual thing. I’ve always loved daydreamed since I was a young child and dabbled in writing out my ideas over the years, but I didn’t take the career seriously until I was an adult.

3) What’s the inspiration behind your novel?

I was dealing with body image issues at the time that I think a lot of women deal with. I thought about Medusa, how she’s so ugly that people die when they look at her. That’s worse than breaking a mirror because of your appearance.

I thought about how difficult it would be to deal with the loneliness of being that ugly. How hard it would be to fall in love.

I wanted to write about it.

4) Can you tell us more about ‘Medusa’s Desire’ in five sentences or less?

I try to keep as accurate to the original story as possible. In my version Perseus falls in love with Medusa instead of chopping off her head, but by the end, it’s explained why we were told the version of the story we have. All the events in my novel are the same, there’s just a secret twist to them.

5) What does a book need to be ‘good’ for you?

I need to see that the author has a good imagination. I want my heart strings to be pulled, whether I cry or sigh happily.

I like authors who know enough about human psychology to create realistic characters with both strengths and weaknesses.

I prefer authors who are fearless and will write about anything.

6) Name your three favorite novels of all time.

These change all the time, but as of right now, I love the novels Fateful by Claudia Gray, Ember by Bettie Sharpe, and Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte.


7) Do you have a work in progress you’re working on at this moment? Can you tell us more about it?

I’m finishing up the prequel to Medusa’s Desire called Pandora’s Mistake. It will be available for free on Amazon. It’s a retelling of Pandora’s Box, but it tells the real reason why she opened it: to find true love.

Thanks for answering my questions, E.B. and happy holidays!

About Medusa’s Desire

medusadesireTitle: Medusa’s Desire
Author: E.B. Black
Genre: Fantasy Romance
“It all started the day her god raped her.

She transformed into an abomination through his touch. Her skin grew scales. Her eyes turned red. She screamed for help, but all who saw her became stone.

Medusa thought she would be alone forever, until the day a man came to kill her and fell in love instead. Now Perseus is running from those who hired him as he continues to love a girl who could kill him with a glance.”

Author Bio

ebblackE..B. Black lives in southern California with her family and two rottweilers. She daydreams about dressing up like a necromancer for Halloween and about new fantasy worlds she can throw her characters into.

Website

Twitter

Facebook

Blog

Goodreads

Amazon

This entry was posted in Author Interview and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

