Author Interview with Ava Catori

morethanbanner

I’m happy to host an interview with author Ava Catori today. Ava is the author of contemporary romance novels “More Than I Wanted” and “Compulsive Desires”. Since I write adult romances myself, I’m delighted to have her on my blog. Welcome, Ava!

1)      When did you write your first novel?

I wrote my first novel about twenty years ago, scribbling it out with a pencil on notebook paper. I’d sit at the dining room table and work on it after I put my kids to bed. What’s fun is seeing how much I’ve grown as a writer, and how I learned to pace a story over the years. I only started publishing recently though.

2) What inspired you to write ‘More Than I Wanted’?

I knew I wanted to write a novel in the romance genre, and was flipping through some pictures for cover ideas. I was drawn to the image that’s currently on the cover, and it helped guide me. When I saw it, it spoke to me, and I wanted to put words to the picture.

3) Describe ‘More Than I Wanted’ in five sentences or less.

It’s the story of a couple deciding how much they want to sacrifice to make a relationship work. There’s always that moment when you realize you’re both invested and are willing to work through bumps together.  “More Than I Wanted” looks at that magnetic pull and throws challenges at the couple.

4) Why should everyone read ‘More Than I Wanted’?

“More Than I Wanted” is a fast, interesting read that goes on a journey of emotions. You’re invested in the couple, and want them to get through their struggles. It’s a contemporary romance that keeps a nice pace, hooking you in to see what happens next.

5) Who are your three favorite contemporary romance authors, and why?

I really enjoy Jennifer Cruise’s wit and storytelling skills. She writes a fun, romantic story.

I grew up devouring Jackie Collins, so she holds a special spot with me.

I’m currently enjoying “Wallbanger” by Alice Clayton. I’d like to read more of her work, and really enjoy her style. It’s fun and edgy, and keeps your attention.

The funny thing is that I tend to read a lot of humor, so I go for quirky things like Christopher Moore, Erma Bombeck, Carl Hiaasen with wild characters, Janet Evanovich, or Jen Lancaster. The common thread is humor. Oddly, enough, I love to write romance!

6) If you could take three books with you to an abandoned island, which books would you choose?

Being from New Jersey, I’d have to choose “One for the Money”, because it’s fun, but also reminds me of home. Jen Lancaster’s “Bitter is the New Black” might have to come with me for the snark and sarcasm. Lastly, I’d probably take a classic like “Wuthering Heights”.  This captured my imagination in high school, and has remained a favorite to this day. It’s hard to choose!

7) What is the most challenging part about writing for you?

I think it’s the self-doubt, and wondering if people will be interested in what you have to say in a story. Will your voice keep their attention? Pacing was a bigger issue when I first started writing, but that develops over time. While you grow as a writer, the doubt will always stay with you, because it’s a vulnerable piece of yourself – sharing your voice with an unseen audience, hoping they’ll respond to your words.

8) Do you have a WIP you’re working on at the moment?

I’m currently outlining story two in this series. It looks at the “what happens next” aspect for the couple. It’s titled “All That I Need”, and should be available in early 2013.

Thank you for replying to my questions, Ava!

About More than I wanted

morewant-cover1-200x300Title: More Than I Wanted

Author: Ava Catori

Genre: Adult Contemporary Romance

Kate Tanner sees everything she wants in Austin. After falling for a charming and handsome military man, Kate realizes he may not return her feelings.

Will Austin fall in love with Kate, or has he hardened from past hurts? Just as he starts to warm up, things are turned upside down. Kate and Austin have to decide if their feelings are worth fighting for, or if walking away will be beneficial to them both.

With the threat of being separated, can Kate and Austin find a way to make things work? Having Austin in her life is more than Kate ever wanted, but she’s learning he’s all that she needs.

Author Bio

nov2012-240x300Ava Catori spends her days tied to her keyboard, being happiest there. With a passion for storytelling, she gets lost in the details of building characters and analyzing their thoughts. With a conversational tone, she entertains with fast, fun reads. There’s nothing she likes more than putting a couple together, only to tear them apart so they can find their way back to one another.

Ava resides in New Jersey, but sneaks away to Florida as often as she’s able. She’s happily married to a patient man, who has the ability to sustain long hours of rambling thoughts spilling from her non-stop. With the company of three dogs and a cat, she sets her writing schedule around their inability to coordinate their potty breaks.

To see what’s next, be sure to visit AvaCatori.com

Links

Website –  http://AvaCatori.com

Amazon – http://www.amazon.com/author/avacatori

Barnes and Noble – http://www.barnesandnoble.com/c/ava-catori

Kobo –
http://www.kobobooks.com/ebook/More-Than-I-Wanted/book-D3ARle-nAUSbTN3rz3drRw/page1.html?s=Fyn1yryPokyc8UzfrVExMg&r=1

All Romance Ebooks –
http://www.allromanceebooks.com/storeSearch.html?searchBy=author&qString=Ava+Catori

Smashwords – https://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/avacatori

This entry was posted in Author Interview, Book Tours and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Author Interview with Ava Catori

  1. Ava Catori says:

    Thanks for having me here!

Leave a Reply

