Interview with romance author Courtney Elliott

I’m hosting a tour stop for The Chick Flick Project today. The Chick Flick Project is a romantic comedy novel written by author Courtney Elliott and published by Senzuri Books. I can’t wait to read this book!

I asked Courtney Elliott some interview questions, and she was kind enough to reply to them.

1. Name your three favorite books of all time.

My favorite book is “Pirate’s Promise” by Bobbi Smith. I have read it numerous times and I still cannot get enough of it. Another book that I really enjoy is “A Rose in Winter” by Kathleen Woodiwiss. I think it is such a poignant classic love story, and I could never get tired of it. My other favorite would have to be “The Notebook” by Nicholas Sparks. I adored every aspect of it from the characters to the plot.

2. Did you plot everything beforehand, or did you write ‘as you go’?

I actually like to mix it up. There are a lot of times where I will plot everything beforehand, so I know where I want my characters to end up. Then there are other times where I like to make it up as I go. I like allowing my characters to lead me where the story should go, rather than me leading them. I think it mainly just depends on what kind of story I am writing, as to which way I will write it.

3. If you could sum up “The Chick Flick Project” in twenty words, what would they be?

A young woman tries to prove that in real life, love never works out the way it does in Chick Flicks.

4. What do you hope to accomplish with “The Chick Flick Project”?

I would like for it to make somewhat of an impact. I hope that men and women can read it, and maybe it will give them a little more insight into the way they’re perceiving their own love lives.

5. Why should everyone read this book?

I think everyone should read this book, because it’s a unique view on what a lot of people think. A lot of people watch chick flicks and talk about how things like that would never happen. So now, there is a book out there that takes those thoughts and shouts them for everyone to hear or read in this case.

6. How long did it take you to write “The Chick Flick Project”?

I would have to say from the time I sat down at the computer and began working on it until my final draft was done, it probably took me about a year. I worked on it a lot, and I was having an enormous amount of fun with it, so it was a lot easier for me to finish than some of my other stories.

7. Where did you get the inspiration from?

I was watching a romantic comedy one day, and I remember thinking, “it would never work out that way.” I decided to write just one romantic comedy that didn’t work out the way it normally does. Then before I knew it, I was writing what I thought might really happen if someone had attempted these ideas in real life.

8. Are you working on another novel right now?

I am actually. It’s called “The Chronicles of the Elite” and I’m hoping to turn it into a series. So far, I’ve only been working on the first book of the series. It’s about a young man named, Jacob Wellsley. After an accident leaves him secluded from everything he used to hold close, he begins to discover that he has special powers. Then he finds out that he has these powers, because he is actually a member of an Elite race of human from 35,000 years in the past.

The Chick Flick Project

Title: The Chick Flick Project
Author: Courtney Elliott
Genre: Romance, Comedy
Ally Nichols is fed up with constantly putting herself out there to only be rejected again and again. After her most recent failure, she comes up with a solution. She decides to start modeling her love life after all of the big screen’s most recognizable love stories. Hilarity, heartbreak, mishaps and mayhem ensue. She hopes that maybe one of them actually figured out the secret to true love. The only problem: no one ever told her that sometimes your Hollywood Happy Ending is where you least expect to find it.

Author Bio

Courtney Elliott lives in a small town in Texas called Cleburne. She has been writing stories since she was eight years old. She’s an easy person to get along with. She loves making jokes, most of which are self deprecating. She’s not ashamed of who she is therefore not afraid to be herself. She may be young, but does not believe age should be a factor, her writing should speak for itself.

Goodreads | Author on Goodreads | Facebook | Courtney’s Blog | Senzuri Books Facebook

Buy from Amazon or Barnes and Noble.

This entry was posted in Author Interview and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

