Finished a short story

I finished a short story. FINALLY. It’s like I can’t possibly seem to finish anything, and then I got a burst of inspiration and well, five hours later I had a first draft.

I let it wait for a while. To be honest, I was scared. If I can’t cramp out a decent novella in the 100 or more hours I put into the novella, why would I be able to come up with a suitable short story in a matter of hours?

But, by my best friend’s advice and constant nagging, I opened up the file a few days ago, read through it. There was a lot of nodding and a lot of head shaking, but in the end I fixed up some errors and plot stuff and sent it to my betareaders.

Got it back from them the other day, looked at their suggestions, incorporated them. Send it over again. Got some more feedback. Same process.

Then this morning I opened up the file for a final look-over. And now it’s done. Edited. Polished.

I feel like I’ve climbed Mount Everest, but the worst is yet to come. The story needs a publisher. Now it’s about 4k,  and I don’t want to send it to a magazine for God knows what reason besides that I never read magazines. If anyone knows a good publisher for short stories, feel free to leave it in the comments.

This entry was posted in Updates, WIP and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

